A few action shots of Cleo and Emma

Top Geek

Forum Addict
Car(s)
1995 Nissan 240SX
A few shots from playing around with the shutter speed. I used manual mode though, as my D40 seems to overexpose shots in shutter priority (help?). I'm still learning, so they were overexposed (and probably still are, a bit) before some editing. These were taken in the evening about an hour before sunset.

I was going for getting the one dog (Cleo, the black one) focused/sharp with the rest of the image in a motion blur in the first two pictures.

(I know, this one has lousy focus or maybe the shutter was too slow, but I love the "in the air"-ness of it)

As always, constructive criticism is welcome (and probably necessary :p)

It would be nice to see the EXIF of these photos, but one thing is immediatly aparent. You've got way to long shutter speeds.

I'd try upping the ISO, or getting a brighter lens. But you shouldn't have any trouble getting shutter speeds of 1/320-500s with that much light.

Another option, is of course panning. I think you've tried that in some of the shots, but you might want to work on your panning technique. :)

I'd try upping the ISO, or getting a brighter lens.
It must have been the ISO. I think I had it at 200.

But you shouldn't have any trouble getting shutter speeds of 1/320-500s with that much light.
I'll try that next time. I was down in 1/60, 1/80.

Another option, is of course panning. I think you've tried that in some of the shots, but you might want to work on your panning technique.
Indeed, panning is what I was attempting, but it needs practice :)

Panning takes a lot of practice. I suck at it, but then again, I do little of it.

But seriously, so slow shutter speeds? What apertures where you at?

I used manual mode though, as my D40 seems to overexpose shots in shutter priority (help?). I'm still learning, so they were overexposed (and probably still are, a bit) before some editing. These were taken in the evening about an hour before sunset.