Buying a car / Getting into motorsports

Psirus

Aloha
Here is the thing: I'm a mech engineering student and I'm really interested in cars, motorsports and I've always wanted to take part in a motorrace.
Also, my knowledge on cars is somewhat limited and completely theoretical.
That's why I had this idea to buy an old, beaten up car and restore it/turn it into something one could use for motorsports.
The main point is to learn how to repair and maintain a car, the racing part is in the far future.
But since I'm a student, I don't really have any money.
I was thinking 80s, preferably RWD.
I don't really care if the interior is complete rubbish, I'd be throwing it away anyway.
What cars would you suggest?
What else do I have to consider?

First off where do you live? How much money do you have to spend of the car alone? What type of motor sports will you be getting into? How much money do you have to spend of restoring it? These are all questions you need to answer before looking for a beat up old car to restore. There are plenty of 80's and 90's cars out there. Like if you live in the US and you want to get into drifting I would suggest a 240sx. You can find shells, depending where you live, for 300 bucks with minimal to no rust. All you would have to do is drop in a SR20 motor swap, update the suspension, weld the diff, do a 300zx brake swap, and throw in a roll cage to have a very good drifting car for about 4K to 6K depending on what kind of deals you could get. If you want to go into autox then I would suggest the same thing I said for drifting except put in a LSD, or don't weld the differential. Another great cheap car for autox is a Miata.

Last edited:
I live in Germany, and I was thinking to spend around 500? on the car itself.
As for restoring, I'm planning to do this step by step, so I don't know the budget, but I don't have a timeframe either.
What kind of motorsport I'll be doing is also up for discussion.
I'd just rule out Drag racing.