Random thoughts.... [Tech Edition]

Copy the partition to an external HDD using Gparted. It'll preserve the UUID and everything, so if things go south, you can just copy it back to where it was.

That sounds good, never would have thought to use gparted. Unfortunately I do not have an external HDD, but I have two mostly empty internal HDDs so I can give that a shot. Anything that can be done from within Windows though? I was thinking something along the lines of a drive image but I have no experience with such things.

I think that, looking at the purposes of said machine (little bit of gaming, lots of testing with multiple VMs), that I'd rate a triple channel memory controller and a faster system bus over a few more mhzs.

System bus on the Lynnfields is the same speed as the old i7's. And while it's only a dual channel one, the memory controller on the 860 supports DDR3-1333. Still, this is getting me thinking, which is actually better for what I'm gonna build...

Last edited:
For me it's easy, running multiple VMs as efficiently as possible is a lot more important than a few more fps in some game I rarely play. So more channels outweigh more mhzs. Same goes for the system bus. QPI is better at multitasking (at least from my limited knowledge of both systems) than the DMI one in the Lynnfield processors.

Anybody have an opinion on monitor calibrators? Looking to buy one but not quite sure who makes a good unit.

I'm wondering if I should buy an HTC Magic. Or Hero.

My main dilemma is that I want an Android phone, but a G1 is only $350 compared to the almost $500 of the other 2, and it has a physical keyboard to boot.

The new Android motorola (Can't remember the name) looks damn ugly, especially the really messy UI, and the LG one isn't a lot better either.

Last edited: