So I had an accident...

what... You mean in Germany? No. A trained monkey could pass them.

Yah... it took me about 20 minutes to learn all that stupid questions by heart and the exam was done in like 3 minutes...

Driving schools are quoting me between 1500 and 1800... I feel like being screwed sideways
Ouch, it seems inflation hit hard here. I did pay about ?1,150 - but that was 11 years ago.

The theoretical part of the exams are pretty hardcore, I am told.
That exam was the easiest one I've taken ever... granted, it was the first one I studied for properly. :p Last weekend - meaning 11 years after I studied for it - I passed without error when someone had brought such exams for fun.
Attend the lessons, do your studying, and the test won't be much of a problem.

Even with brake failure, you could always put it in 1st gear. Did the handbrake not work?
First, I don't believe it was brake failure until there's actual evidence for that. Second, do you know what you are talking about? Putting a manual in 1st gear is actually rather difficult at speed, let alone while panicking because you are in the process of going off the road and heading for some trees. And handbrake? Yeah sure, because going into the trees sideways is more fun. Besides, that would require taking a hand off the steering wheel.
Even if these proposals were practical, you can't expect a 19-year-old inexperienced non-racing-driver to be able to pull off something like that, let alone in the one second he has to react to a very nasty surprise.

Seitenstreifen :)

Ah no, we weren't on it. The place where we crashed, has tiny ribs painted into the shoulder, sort of like a rumble strip. we ploughed straight through the middle of the road.

Also Alex, I am talking about the ADAC trainings, where every punk can turn up with his passat :)

a) Proof of theory that satnav-focused drivers are a menace to society, see people driving into rivers, forests and off bridges "because the satnav said so".