So I had an accident...

I feel that everything has been said here already.

No matter what reasons tho, crashing sucks. Glad you're fine, and the car is rental, so who cares ;)

There are a lot of crashes that happen these days due to drivers taking what their satnav says for gospel. I've driven cars with them, and I don't really like them. Frankly, you can't have some little machine drive for you.

I feel that everything has been said here already.
seriously... But since this is an internet forum, and the thread title has the word accident in it, I assume that there will be hundreds more variants of the sentence "the driver should have been driving the car" coming our way...

I'm a new driver myself - rather newer than your friend. I'm an awful navigator, so I tend to put the satnav on and let it do the bulk of the thinking, but even so, in my couple of weeks on the road, I've learned that blindly following the satnav, you might as well be following the crazy man who sings about prime numbers on the bus and it's mostly useful for just pointing you in roughly the right direction.
So far it's tried to send me into a pedestrianised town center, has suggested I go the wrong way around roundabouts (when Dad accidentally set it to 'bicycle' mode), advised me to take roads that didn't exist or had been restricted to buses, and regularly loses me completely in Coventry, usually when I'm on one of the more terrifying roundabouts. In those cases I just take whichever exit it's safe to take around the other lost people who don't know which lane they need and let the damn thing have another guess. It quite often doesn't know there are roundabouts coming up, especially on major roads, but as I trust the thing about as far as I can throw the car, I'm always watching the road ahead and what other drivers are doing as well as looking out for road signs. Perhaps it helps that as I drive an old car, I know that if I had an accident like that, I'd not be likely to walk away from it.