Processing HD for Apple TV

palewhitemale

Car(s)
[size=1] 2004.5 Atlas Grey A4 Avant 1.8t w/work.
Hey guys,

I'm sure I"m not the only one here that's specifically trying to prep my video for an AppleTV, so I figured that I'd go ahead and start a thread specific to this hardware.

I'm an HD noob, and as such, I'm having some problems getting my playback to work properly. I'm pretty sure I've figured out how to fix this, though, and I'd love some feedback. Maybe my time can save others some time too, who knows.

I'm certain that I've converted to the correct format, using the MKV into mp4 with Quicktime, export as mp4 with 2 channel AAC audio. The only problem is that when I play it on the Apple TV, it freezes after just a few seconds of playback and crashes the ATV.

After reading up, it seems that there are some limitations on the ATV that this direct "re-containering" 720p rip exceeds.

While its really hard to figure out exactly who to listen to regarding these technical topics, I'm using trial and error and I'll post my results here. Luckily I've got the horsepower to just keep trying until I get the process down.

To understand the limitations of the Apple TV, I suggest having a read here, as the different limitations interact with each other.

http://www.macworld.com/article/57237/2007/04/encodeappletv.html

The first couple steps are certain. The MKV container needs to be done away with in exchange for a mp4 (using H264).

I've found the quickest way to do it is what's already been posted in the other HD thread. Go ahead and follow these steps, which will give you a properly processed HD mp4 without transcoding (read: save a ton of time).

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=6819606&postcount=1

The properties of the mp4 output are 1280x720, bitrate ~3.5Mbs, and framerate = 25fps.

On to the problems: