The Android thread

Icebone should get one of these:

500x_pillows.jpg

I would take the desire over the legend any day. The price for a desire is crazy low!!

Right. Spartphone newbie here. Been a Nokia boy all my life and still run a 5140 which is getting on for 6 years old now (had two phones in between but one went swimming and the other was nicked). Decided I fancy an android phone which will kill my brand loyalty with nokia sadly.

Looking at the HTC range but the only one available to me it seems is the HTC Tattoo. Not seen much about this on the net other than it's screen is small so some android apps may not like it and it's running android 1.6. Is it worth looking for a 2.0/2.1 phone? Will I be able to upgrade the Tattoo? Are there any other android phones worth having?

Limitations for me:
Only carriers I can use are Vodafone/o2 for signal reasons.
Max of ?25 a month contract.

If your on Vodafone using a Vodafone provided HTC Magic, you might want to run a virus scan of your computer:

Kaspersky Security Blog said:
Security researchers have found that Vodafone, one of the world's larger wireless providers, is distributing some HTC phones with malware pre-installed on them.
The phone, the HTC Magic, runs the Google Android mobile operating system, and is one of the more popular handsets right now. A researcher at Panda Security received one of the handsets recently, and upon attaching it to her PC, found that the phone was pre-loaded with the Mariposa bot client. Mariposa has been in the news of late thanks to some arrests connected to the operation of the botnet. However, that was not the only malware the Panda researcher found on the phone...

http://threatpost.com/en_us/blogs/htc-phones-pre-installed-mariposa-bot-client-030910

Last edited: