Engineers in the UK under-valued: downing street online petition

otispunkmeyer

Car(s)
'03 Skoda Superb (farewell :(), '06 Honda Civic ES
http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/Engineer-Status/

As a recently qualified Astronautics Engineer and with 8 years experience as a Robotics Engineer I am at a point where due to the lack of respect by the Government, the media in particular the BBC, and society as a whole, I feel there is little point staying in the UK. Car mechanics,Plumbers and Electricians are now commonly referred to as Engineers and Banks now regard Engineers as non/semi skilled. With the UK falling behind most other countries in training Professional Engineers and the falling numbers of children undertaking science based subjects this can only result in a reduction in the UK?s competitiveness. I believe for the long turn prosperity of the UK and to attract students back to science subjects the Government must act decisively and introduce laws to protect Engineers such that only ?Chartered Engineers? ImechE, RAeS can use the title Engineer. This will give Engineers the same professional status in our society as doctors, lawyers similar to Europe.

i whole heartedly agree.

i know most here are in the US, but for those of you who are in the UK and possibly are engineers or interested in engineering this is for you.

engineering here has become so diluted, its not even attractive anymore....why go through all the education when at the end you're looked upon as no higher up the ladder than a mech at the local Kwik-Fit? as a result whats happening is this....

fewer and fewer people go to uni to study engineering and come out the end proper professionals. the current crop of engineers are near retirement and guess what? they have no replacements. uh oh. its going to come bite the gov in the ass hard if nothing is done. saddly knowing labour, their answer will be to employ immigrants instead.