BMW using technology to answer a question nobody asked.

Ha, speaking of PITA japanese cars, I own an '86 Celica GTS. I had to remove the solenoid from my starter with it mounted in order to remove the whole thing without messing with taking the exhaust apart (to take the manifold off I have to remove the alternator and it's bracket). There's alot of little stuff like that that makes it a pain to work on. God forbid I ever have to mess with anything between the engine and firewall, my little sister might have hands small enough to get in there...

In my roaming around junkyards i've noticed new cars look harder and harder to work on, and some don't look to have any tow hooks. And the idea of an electronic dipstick, like so many other "great" new technologies is completely retarded. God, I can't even wrap my mind around that. Talk about engineering for engineerings sake. I can understand BMWs engineers thinking it would be cool, I'm a mechanical engineer major myself and some conversations take some pretty stupid turns, it's hard for some guys to stay rooted in whats really necessary sometimes.

It's stuff like this that makes me wish I had my old truck again. No a/c, power nothing, manual trans, carb with no emmisions bullshit etc etc (lol no tow hooks either, but thats what the steel bumper is for). You could fix just about anything on it with hand tools, in a reasonable amount of time. Me and my dad replaced the clutch in like 3 hours, no power tools, never done it before. For manufacturers to just assume that everyone will take their car to the dealership for every little thing it ever needs is just asinine.

Last edited:
For manufacturers to just assume that everyone will take their car to the dealership for every little thing it ever needs is just asinine.