Project Torque - MMO Car Racing, Free to Play

gazza

http://project-torque.aeriagames.com/

Game Features:

* MMORG (Massively Multiplayer Online Racing Game)
* Cutting Edge 3D Graphics
* Several Types of Game Modes
* 8 Player Races (Expanding to 32 Players per Race)
* Advanced Experience and Licensing System
* Online Community features like Chat and Email within the Client
* Shop and Item Mall for Upgrades and Car Customization
* Online Rankings
* Tournaments

Upcoming Features

* Race Teams / Race Clubs
* Fully Customizable Avatars and Race Girls
* New Cars
* New Tracks
* New Modes of Play

For more information on Project Torque, please visit our Game Guide.
PT-03.jpg

The above taken Directly from the Aeria Games site.

now for the Personal opinion stuff

Project torque is a free to play MMO racing game. I have been playing for a couple of months now, the game recently went open beta.

The Racing is not Simulation level like LFS or RFactor, but the physics is quite good. The Graphics IMHO are very nice, and with reasonable Hardware runs pretty well. Lag is an issue for those with slow connections but seems to be handled pretty well by the game.

The game progresses by competing in various forms of racing as well as a CTF mode and an explorer mode (like a easter egg hunt) and gaining RP (XP) from your participation, as well as extra RP for completing clean sections, improving laptimes, and your finishing position in the race. You then gain levels which unlocks Tracks, Racing Modes, Cars, and Parts.

Full damage is modelled on the cars to the point that if you smash your right front quarter panel, as well as showing the deformed panel and paint, the car will pull in the appropriate direction, if it is a night race you may lose your right headlight, and if you loosen the bonnet, it will fly up when you go over bumps obscuring your view.

The tracks themselves Range from Country Roads, RallyCross, Circuits, City Street, and Oval Track (thunder alley mode).