Does anyone still have 56k on here? [Speed Test Thread]

ZeDestructor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
2,322
Location
#gear, irc.finalgear.com, .mu, .earth, .???
Car(s)
1994 Toyota Tercel
20/1 ratio? dafuq?
Pretty common for ADSL2+/cable.. sadly a lot of ISPs have maintained that stupid ratio even while ever more people need faster upload for backup and streaming for example.

EDIT: for reference, PON/GPON/10GPON (the most common FTTH/FTTB tech) is a 10:4 ratio, DOCSIS 3 (current cable) is 4:3 (5:3 for EuroDOCSIS 3) per channel, multiple channels aggregateable, and VDSL from 55:3 in the original spec to symmetric (1:1) for VDSL2.

Who needs upload anyway. I'm not seeding anything to the internetz, and i'm not uploading any content to the youtubes.

Download is where it matters boy.
Upload matters a lot as well due to how the internet is essentially all TCP, which needs to acknowledge every packet sent and received. For example: when I pull down stuff from my server at around 15Mbit/s, I generate about 0.3Mbit/s (about 50:1 ratio) purely out of the ACKs, then pile on my general baseline of 0.1Mbit/s in keeping track of my dropbox-like sync setup and other background services and suddenly I start seeing packet loss from an overloaded 20/1 connection :(

Also, for my sort of backup needs, I'd need around 20Mbit/s upload to properly backup everything.. for now, only 37GB is properly backed up, via my general filesync setup.

There are content creators in Belgium though.

And it has always been like this: high download, low upload. We just don't whine about it.
You should be whining about it, loudly.

So we got a new connection at the office: 1 Gbit/s and below 2 ms ping... fkcing sweet.
I hate you.
 
Last edited:

Adamar

Viswijf
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
1,906
Location
Belgium
Car(s)
Volvo C30 DRIVe (2011), BMW F700GS (2014)
Upload matters a lot as well due to how the internet is essentially all TCP, which needs to acknowledge every packet sent and received. For example: when I pull down stuff from my server at around 15Mbit/s, I generate about 0.3Mbit/s (about 50:1 ratio) purely out of the ACKs, then pile on my general baseline of 0.1Mbit/s in keeping track of my dropbox-like sync setup and other background services and suddenly I start seeing packet loss from an overloaded 20/1 connection :(
And now in english?

You should be whining about it, loudly.
No i won't
 

ZeDestructor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
2,322
Location
#gear, irc.finalgear.com, .mu, .earth, .???
Car(s)
1994 Toyota Tercel
And now in english?
If you put your upload low enough, your download speed suffers because you can't confirm receiving the data

No i won't
Try uploading 20GB of work data and tell me how you like it then. Or try streaming movies or games from your home computer when you're on the go.
 

Hidden_Hunter

Needs more IceBone
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
8,615
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Car(s)
'13 BMW 125i, '26 Buick Standard Six
If you put your upload low enough, your download speed suffers because you can't confirm receiving the data



Try uploading 20GB of work data and tell me how you like it then. Or try streaming movies or games from your home computer when you're on the go.


How's that for a ratio

Really doesn't phase me, as I don't do anything upload intensive and you can use all the bandwidth even with overheads no problem.

If I need to do something for work that needs a faster upload I just use LTE
 

ZeDestructor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
2,322
Location
#gear, irc.finalgear.com, .mu, .earth, .???
Car(s)
1994 Toyota Tercel


How's that for a ratio

Really doesn't phase me, as I don't do anything upload intensive and you can use all the bandwidth even with overheads no problem.

If I need to do something for work that needs a faster upload I just use LTE
Yeah.. I'm in camp of wanting a shitton more bandwidth, to do such strange things like remote gaming and remote storage. Being able to do a proper, Being able to fully backup of all my crap to a real server would also be nice.. but uploading nearly 13.5TiB of data on 1mbit? Yeahhh...
 

Viper007Bond

Chicken Nugget Connoisseur
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
31,051
Location
Portland, Oregon
Car(s)
2008 Dodge Viper, 2006 MB CLS55 AMG
Yesterday I was paying $120/mo for 100/15.

Today I'm paying $80/mo for 100/100. :D

 
Last edited:

tquattro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
1,089
Location
Transylvania
Car(s)
Audi A3 1.8T

Nice to see we're no.1 at something not to be ashamed of, probably also the cheapest (1Gbit connection is about 15Eur/month)
 

Mitchi

Sierras für alle!
DONOR
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
5,330
Location
Lüneburg
Nice to see that I'm not even reaching a tenth of the average of my country.
 

47

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
5,125
Location
Croatia
Car(s)
Skoda Octavia & Fabia
woo, above average...when it's working fine :D
 

Perc

Very Odd Looking Vehicular Object
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
4,750
Location
Finland
Car(s)
4x4 diesel barge
My ?0.02:

- There has to be quite a lot of 100+ Mbit/s connections in Finland because many rural areas are stuck on ADSL.
- How can Italian internet be that bad? Someone should be fired for this.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,513
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
Upgraded to Virgin Media's 150 service today with a new superhub. It's a modem-router currently just acting as a modem but my TP-Link TP-WRD4300 seems to be dying (WiFi sometimes goes off despite it thinking that it's on and multiple restarts are needed to make it work again) so it might take over, it's also wireless AC where the TP-Link is just N750.

Anyway, the PC downstairs that is connected directly to the router:

5042921257.png

My machine upstairs, connected by a pair of '200Mbps' homeplugs.

5042759026.png

Excellent downstairs, not too shabby upstairs but a cable will be run down in the not too distant future.
 

LeVeL

Forum Addict
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
12,712
$50/mo for this. My computer is at about a third of this speed but that's because of my weak outdated wireless adapter - new one is in the mail already.

View attachment 17471
 
Top