How to photoshop iPhone icons

AshDav

Active Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
427
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I created this guide on photoshopping iPhone icons a while ago and i figured some people here might be interested in making some of their own :)

You can take a look at the iphone icons tutorial on my website
or see it here:
[VIMEO]6005145[/VIMEO]

here's the one i made in the tute



Good luck :)
 
Last edited:

47

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
5,132
Location
Croatia
Car(s)
Skoda Octavia & Fabia
I tried that before following your guide...I failed :(

I'll have to give it a shot again some time!

btw, your tutorials are really good. ;)
 

NecroJoe

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
19,254
Location
San Francisco area, CA, USA
Car(s)
2015 Mazda 3 S GT, 2015 VW e-Golf
Hmm...for some reason, I can't seem to get the layer/stroke thing to work right. I've used it many times before, but for some reason, there's nothing visible... (CS2, PC)

I can do it ON the button color layer, but not on it's own layer for some reason...

edit: Am I really going to have to put it on that layer, then magic-wand-it, copy it to a new layer, then go back to the button color layer, and fill over it with the color? I AM, aren't I...stupid. There's got to be something obvious I'm not seeing.

edit: Nevermind. I was doing it under layer/layer style, rather than edit/stroke. I don't know what the differences is, but...it worked.
 
Last edited:

salle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
1,084
Location
Sweden
I did this (as I had those pictures lying around from a failed attempt at making a signature, this came out much better)
 

salle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
1,084
Location
Sweden
None taken. Besides if that's the worst you can come up with it must be pretty descent ;)
 

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
:cry: That one is soo much better!!
I was going to ask why my one does not get that glossy look(after I done some more tweaking). One question salle....do you have a bigger resolution image of that one so I can nick it? :mrgreen: Prefebly a PSD file....
Your cause will be rewarded by rep points :p

I guess I suck at gradients....:( Need some more practise!!!!
 

salle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
1,084
Location
Sweden
you can get the psd file... it's the effects layers really that matters. and I made it from your avatar hence the size. lets see... here you go.
A tiny note, I use masking layers quite alot as you might notice.

Edit: damn one of my bad habbits of never naming my layers is showing now... this psd stuff is way too revealing. ;)
 
Last edited:

Archie411

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
4,542
Location
Sri Lankan gone down under
Car(s)
Go away....look at something else...
Hehe lol I dont mind :p
If you can manage without them why bother!

Edit: I think im getting a bit better but for now I will use your one!
 
Last edited:
Top