Internet: Big sites are slow?

Interrobang

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
8,144
I have recently moved from france to the netherlands and I am encountering something curious since I have been here with my Pc (adsl connection).

"Big" internet sites like facebook, google, youtube etc - load terribly slow (like 56k slow) compared to when I was in france despite my internet connection being much better now. This curiously does not affect small sites at all like finalgear, but only the "big ones". This also only happens with my Pc, not my Tablet or Phone. Neither via apps nor via browser do I experience this there when using these sites. Youtube on my smartphone - no problem, quick and in good quality. Youtube on my computer? Better wait 5 minutes until the video even starts in lowest quality. Using Vimeo? Best quality, really quick.

Are there some browser-settings or stuff I should change? This is a bit puzzling since this hasn't happend when I moved to france ...
 

MWF

Now needs wood
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
27,433
Location
MWF HQ, Ukadia
Car(s)
MX-5 1.8i Indiana SE, update pending
Nah, it's because you're in Fermany (Funny Germany aka Dutchieland).

Once you have a little shmoke your perception of time changes quite dramatically.

:tease:
 

rickhamilton620

has a fetish for terrible cars
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
16,700
Location
Yoe, PA
Car(s)
2012 Kia Forte EX
I have recently moved from france to the netherlands and I am encountering something curious since I have been here with my Pc (adsl connection).

"Big" internet sites like facebook, google, youtube etc - load terribly slow (like 56k slow) compared to when I was in france despite my internet connection being much better now. This curiously does not affect small sites at all like finalgear, but only the "big ones". This also only happens with my Pc, not my Tablet or Phone. Neither via apps nor via browser do I experience this there when using these sites. Youtube on my smartphone - no problem, quick and in good quality. Youtube on my computer? Better wait 5 minutes until the video even starts in lowest quality. Using Vimeo? Best quality, really quick.

Are there some browser-settings or stuff I should change? This is a bit puzzling since this hasn't happend when I moved to france ...
Computer specs? Browser?
 

Interrobang

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
8,144
Nah, it's because you're in Fermany (Funny Germany aka Dutchieland).

Once you have a little shmoke your perception of time changes quite dramatically.

:tease:
I'm not the type for that sort of recreational activity. *seriousface* Ze weed only makes me sleepy and I have no problems sleeping generally ... so it's pretty much not interesting for me. Not against other people using it or so, for me it just doesn't do anything ...

Computer specs? Browser?
Desktop: win7 , intel C2D E8400, gtx 560, 8gb ram, 500gb SSD for system partition, browsers Chrome and IE. Connected to adsl router with Ethernet cable.
Notebook: Stock Lenovo Yoga 910, win10, firefox and chrome. Connected via wifi. (yeah, I know - my desktop is old but I had to prioritize a new portable computer for work - and it's not so old that it wouldn't be able to suddenly handle facebook - and the yoga is practically still brand new but has the exact same problem)

Not that the specs would matter anyway. Nothing has changed but my location. I can browse bing maps completely fine, but google maps is unusable. I can browse amazon or ebay normally, but loading a picture on Twitter takes 2 minutes. Not on the app or the browser on my phone or Tablet (both android with chrome as a browser) - just on my pc (and laptop). I think this narrows it down to something being "wrong" or badly adjusted with windows. I just can't figure out what and why it only affects certain "big" sites, but not others.
 
Last edited:

villej

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
660
Location
Finland
Car(s)
'03 and '06 Renault Megane
Do your phone and tablet use the same ADSL connection via WIFI or are they using cellular network? Also, are you using mobile versions of those sites with them?
 

Interrobang

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
8,144
flushdns?
No improvement.

Do your phone and tablet use the same ADSL connection via WIFI or are they using cellular network? Also, are you using mobile versions of those sites with them?
Same adsl connection, I don't have a data plan yet. Mobile sites? The Tablet I've set up that it opens normal sites not mobile sites and everything works fine with that, but the phone uses the mobile sites or/and the apps (for youtube, twitter and the likes).
 

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,421
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Have you cleared cache info or history? Maybe that stuff has geotagging and they?re deliberately throttling you...
 

Interrobang

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
8,144
Have you cleared cache info or history? Maybe that stuff has geotagging and they?re deliberately throttling you...
flushdns should have taken care of that and I wouldn't know why google.nl (where they also redirect me to when I try google.de or google.com) would be slowing me to the point their services are unusable.

Did you try in Incognito mode?
Yes, no difference.

A little side by side demonstration:
This is google maps after I give up after 2 Minutes of loading

ams1.jpg

This is Bing maps after 2 seconds of loading

ams2.jpg

I FUCKING HATE BING MAPS BUT I AM USING IT NOW! I AM DESPERATE!

:mrgreen:
 
Last edited:

villej

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
660
Location
Finland
Car(s)
'03 and '06 Renault Megane
I don't know if it would make any difference, but I would try to do a firmware update on the router and/or return it to factory settings. If you have not done so already.
 

Interrobang

Forum Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
8,144
I don't know if it would make any difference, but I would try to do a firmware update on the router and/or return it to factory settings. If you have not done so already.
The router is new out of the box so I haven't even considered this so far. Will try, thx!
 

bone

"bangle for president"
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
16,324
Location
belgium!!
Car(s)
Volvo V40 & Yamaha Banshee
you also say it happens on your pc, but not on your phone or tablet
how is your pc connected? by cable? do you have a wifi dongle you can connect to your pc?
 

RdKetchup

Snow Mexican Surender Monkey
DONOR
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
4,423
Location
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Car(s)
FoRS, Japanese touring triple
Try a different DNS setting on your laptop? Go to 8.8.8.8/8.8.4.4 if your currently using the automatic setting.
 
Top