Minecraft

fwa2500

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
75
Location
KOXD - Miami University Airport
Car(s)
'97 Subaru Legacy Wagon
tbh, im not quite ready for mobs to be turned on yet, im still trying to build my ICBM site and i know it would be a deathtrap to build if mobs were on.....


and it seems minecraft.net is down right now :(
 
Last edited:

Shentar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
1,603
Location
San Francisco, CA
Car(s)
06 Porsche Cayman S, 90 Miata
I logged into the server. I'm so impressed. Yall have done some amazing stuff! Like I'm blown away by it all.
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,294
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
So unless I've cocked it up, monsters are enabled but Creeper explosions do NOT destroy blocks. This may change at some point, so start building fences around your towns!
 

Karoug

Techno Viking
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
6,470
Location
Sweden
Car(s)
Scooter power!!
Hide yo kids, hide yo wife, cause they be blowing up everyone! :eek:
 
Last edited:

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,631
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
I hate to admit it but Minecraft is starting to really piss me off now. Not the the gameplay but the fact that all to often the fucking login server is down. I've wasted half an hour of my lunch break trying to A) download the current launcher because the old one that worked fine yesterday now wants to update itself and always fail and B) get logged in, only to be faced with the 'End of stream' bullshit after I do.

I know this is a beta game but that's no excuse for the back end to be so unstable. With the amount they've got from all the sales I think it should be possible.

/Rant.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,872
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
I agree, their uptime is abysmal, it's one thing that the game is in beta but the website is live and in production!
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,294
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Unfortunately, if we stop relying on the minecraft.net servers, it's much harder to successfully verify that people are actually who they say they are. If it continues to be an issue, we may work on an alternate system, but hopefully the folks at Mojang will get the servers whipped into shape.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,872
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Unfortunately, if we stop relying on the minecraft.net servers, it's much harder to successfully verify that people are actually who they say they are. If it continues to be an issue, we may work on an alternate system, but hopefully the folks at Mojang will get the servers whipped into shape.
Players can't log into their own names if Minecraft.net goes down anyway. Everybody will just be "Player" so only one person can log on to the server. Only way I've found around this is to use a memory editor to change the variable real-time....
 

PacketCollision

Server Admin/Crasher
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,294
Location
San Francisco
Car(s)
generator on wheels
Players can't log into their own names if Minecraft.net goes down anyway. Everybody will just be "Player" so only one person can log on to the server. Only way I've found around this is to use a memory editor to change the variable real-time....
Well, that's not strictly true, because the last several times it has occurred, we have seen people able to log into the launcher but get 503 errors when actually joining the game. In such cases, we might be able to tie into the forum authentication system or something, but it would take some serious hacking, probably both on Bukkit and maybe on the forums too.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,631
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
Deos anyone know what the '<!DOCTYPE html' error means? I've been using a different machine here (trying to prove that the Quadro FX4800 inside is faulty) and that comes up every time I try to connect to the FG server, followed by the 'end of stream' error. It's running Windows 7 x64 Enterprise pretty much out of the box.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,872
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Ironically enough, that just looks like the error itself is broken :lol: (not interpreting HTML code correctly)
 

Dino

aka Dins
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,806
Location
DUS
Some incredible work! :clap:
Hopefully I can add a bit myself.

And hopefully nobody will steal/break my stuff.
 

captain_70s

Forum Addict
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
6,209
Location
Glasgow, Scotland
Car(s)
'77 Triumph Dolomite 1300 + '83 Triumph Acclaim
Right chaps I've had another idea. I love building stuff, but don't really have a goal for building anything, so I came up with this.

I will designate a place somewhere a village, with space for some some plots and make it as mob proof as possible. Unlike FGistan there will be a limited number of plots (around 6 or so) which you can claim by either asking me in game or via PM on a first come, first serve basis.
The catch is that each village will have a different architectural style that you'd have to follow, so one in the style of a quaint village, another where all buildings have to be sandstone or have an elaborate water feature etc, etc.

This would be good for people like me who loose interest in massive projects and want a bit of a challenge. :D

So, if you would like this to go ahead post here and I'll get started asap. ;)
 

Topgearfanatic

is a Queen
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
6,353
Location
MA
Car(s)
2002 Audi A4 1.8t
If you're thinking about making a sauna with netherrack under your wooden house, make sure you test out where you are placing the stuff in outside of the building, because two layers of stone and wooden steps aren't enough.

Or just don't bother with netherrack.
 

Matt2000

Disco Stu-pour
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
14,631
Location
Country smells, England
Car(s)
'01 Disco 2 V8, '90 Disco 1, '05 Smart Roadster
^ :hug:

I meant to post these last night but forgot.

I got in to some trouble on my roof...


But my wooden floor is finally finished...


While I was away from my machine I was attacked by a skeleton, and he was a terrible shot...
 

Talaaya

Viper's Sister
VIP
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
470
Location
Bellevue, Washington, USA
Any idea why when I try connecting to the server it just times out? Haven't been able to log in for a week or more now. Specifically it says, "Failed to connect to the server. Connection timed out: connect"
 
Top