Minecraft

GaryC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
4,001
Location
Adelaide
Car(s)
'90 Miata, '12 Octavia RS
Max world height in beta is 62 blocks above sea level.
 

JipJopJones

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2006
Messages
4,479
Location
North Shore
Car(s)
1979 Cressida Wagon, 1981 Corolla Hardtop
or you could dig down to bedrock and start the building there. :D
 

P5138

Active Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
432
Location
New Jersey, USA
Car(s)
2001 Impreza RS
or you could dig down to bedrock and start the building there. :D
I like the scrap and choose something shorter option better... well that or the "leave the half-completed skeleton of a skyscraper for that apocolypse feeling" option.
 

mpicco

Forum Addict
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
5,382
Location
Portugal
Car(s)
R19
hahaha burning ship. I can just imagine the builders going for lunch break and then coming back to see the ship burning. "WTF?"
That's exactly what happened... I focused on building a plaza and when I came back I found this... I should have killed the process but it saves so often it was hopeless
 

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,194
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
THE SERVER IS UP

I hope no data was lost. I'd hate to have to rebuild my house again.
no data was lost, to my knowledge.

The server likes to eat memory and stop working for no reason. Usually fixed by rebooting, and it never seems to lose data...
yeah, our server has now 380Mb of ram ;) it has 256 wicht isn't enought for 5 players.
i talked with the server owner and his testing if he can give 786 from another rig.

So I got hopelessly lost. And died. Three times. Can I set up a server to use this map? and what kind of hardware is really needed to allow for just a few people to play on it?
yes, copy your world files to the sam dir as your minecraft serve, then run server, stop it and edit the server.config file to look your world instead of "world".

Not sure if you can import your map into the server (probably can just copy the files over) but I've been running a server for 3-4 people with mostly success on my desktop. 2.66 GHz Core 2 Duo E7300, 4 GB RAM.
if you don't play with it at the same time, your server could run 80 people max ;)

server seems to be offline, or just broken, or run out of allocated memory.
eighter way i'm trying to contact the server's owner to restart the server etc

edit. ps. allocated more memoryto the files, all i now have to do is wake up the dude who runs the server :p
so online :p
 
Last edited:

Loz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
2,306
Location
Cornwall, UK
Yay!

I just finished furnishing my room with more Red Wool/Carpet.

I'll be back on the server in an hour.
 

Buktu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
2,371
Location
Denmark
Car(s)
Suzuki Swift 1.3 2006
Just bought the BETA yesterday, been playing it a few hours :) It's definitely addicting, died once already, took me a while to find my shelter again :p As of right now I'm basically just living in a mountain, while sort of building an ugly-ass stone house out front :p

Any good musthave mods?
 

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,194
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
the server hoster testing bigger ram on another rig...
more info if the server is moved comes here.
BE prepared
 

TechZ

Captain Internet
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
4,333
Location
Singapore (Ex-Bahrain)
Car(s)
Audi TT '08 (Sold) S8 '02 (Sold)
Sorry about the change of servers guys, but this one has more 'free' RAM and is idle more of the time, so able to handle more players. The latency and speed should be as good.
 

P5138

Active Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
432
Location
New Jersey, USA
Car(s)
2001 Impreza RS
Just bought the BETA yesterday, been playing it a few hours :) It's definitely addicting, died once already, took me a while to find my shelter again :p As of right now I'm basically just living in a mountain, while sort of building an ugly-ass stone house out front :p

Any good musthave mods?
There are a couple:
- The Wildgrass mod looks good (though I haven't been able to get it to work without it freezing the game, but that was before the new version with its automatic patching system)
- SimpleMap+ : This mod converts the lighting system of the game into a more modern one, changes the way the grass grows to give it more variety, and adds a minimap to the hud.
- GLSL Shaders: makes depth of field and other effects work (I haven't tried it yet, but it's marked as compatible)
- And for texture mods, I like Bordercraft (makes the game look like borderlands sorta) or the Realistic texture overhaul (I mostly use this one).
 

Buktu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
2,371
Location
Denmark
Car(s)
Suzuki Swift 1.3 2006
Thanks for the suggestions, will look into them :)

Unfortunately, Minecraft performs pretty terribly under Mac OSX. It's doesn't feel great having a game that's basically made up of huge pixels run this poorly on your new laptop :p

It has already crashed on me twice.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,870
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
Thanks for the suggestions, will look into them :)

Unfortunately, Minecraft performs pretty terribly under Mac OSX. It's doesn't feel great having a game that's basically made up of huge pixels run this poorly on your new laptop :p

It has already crashed on me twice.
The latest iteration seems really buggy on both the client and server, I'm really surprised there haven't been updates.
 

Loz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
2,306
Location
Cornwall, UK
I can't get onto the server, keeps giving me a "java.net.SocketException: Permission denied: connect".
 

argatoga

Can't Start His Wank
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
17,996
Location
Seattle
Car(s)
'13 Moto Guzzi V7, '08 Pontiac Solstice GXP
How exactly does the door to the hotel work?
 

P5138

Active Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
432
Location
New Jersey, USA
Car(s)
2001 Impreza RS
How exactly does the door to the hotel work?
There's a pressure plate on the inside which will switch the doors state to open for as long as it's pressed. So if you're standing just inside the door the state will switch while you're standing on the plate. After you get off the plate the door will close. (at least that's how I assume it works)
 
Last edited:

argatoga

Can't Start His Wank
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
17,996
Location
Seattle
Car(s)
'13 Moto Guzzi V7, '08 Pontiac Solstice GXP
There's a pressure plate on the inside which will switch the doors state to open for as long as it's pressed. So if you're standing just inside the door the state will switch while you're standing on the plate. After you get off the plate the door will close. (at least that's how I assume it works)
How do you get in when no one else is around then?
 

Loz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
2,306
Location
Cornwall, UK
There is no Pressure Plate outside the hotel, so you can open the door by punching it.
 
Top