new work computers..

hey whats up all...i'm getting ready to do some computer shopping...for work that is, and we need two of something affordable...mainly looking at the big names, but am open to having them built as well...i need to stay well under a G for each and they need flat panel monitors (i'm sure i can get those for cheep elsewhere)...i dunno...open to ideas, just tryin to get this ball rolling...

thanks in advance
-john

We have been buying Dell's for the last two years where I work. They make solid hardware that has a low failure rate. Used Compaq as well an have had no problems with them. Gateway was the only one we have used that I would not recommend. The laptop hard drive failure rate was insane on our Gateway laptops.

I'm not an IT person (I'm a programmer), but we also use Dell at work here.

I normally don't like name brand computers because all of the proprietary crap that they seem to have (although it's not that bad these days).
At home I've built my own computers from parts (using big name parts like Intel, Creative Labs, 3Com, NVidia, etc...), and was usually able to get a computer built (without software) $100-$200 cheaper than Dell, Gateway, etc... (I'm sure you could get a lot cheaper if you use non big name brand parts).
I'm not certain how practical that would be for a business though.

Dell appears to be pretty solid though.

We've also have used Gateway, IBM and Compaq.

I share the negative opinion of Gateway, and it seems that we've had some failures with IBM laptops too.

Buying pre-built? Buy Dell.

Best to build, but that's not really feasible for a work environment. So, go Dell.

Another vote for Dell prebuilt here. If you're working for a company, they probably want name-brand comps that come with factory warranty and all that jazz. Yes, you can save money if you build it yourself, but I'd bet the company would rather buy a computer from one of the main companies. So dude, you're getting a Dell :mrgreen: