Photo Restoration - anyone use one of these services before?

rickhamilton620

has a fetish for terrible cars
Car(s)
2023 Mazda CX-5 Premium
I have a photo of me, my mom and my dad from when I was like 2 or 3. It's seen better days and I'm considering having it restored.

Has anyone used a photo restoration service before? If so, would you recommend them? Costco and Walgreens offer restoration services, but I fear the damage may be too great for them to resolve.

The (very 80's) photo in question:

nt7Hi10.jpg

If you could properly scan it I can fix it for you!

I would agree that it certainly looks fixable with a good scan. :)

I would agree that it certainly looks fixable with a good scan. :)
Awesome. I tried using the copier at work and was able to get a scan but it's cut off..I think I had a setting wrong.

Yes I work in IT. Yes, I should know this. Lol
If you could properly scan it I can fix it for you!

I too could help if needed.
Fight!

Whoever is the least busy I guess? I'd be willing to pay if that helps.

Awesome. I tried using the copier at work and was able to get a scan but it's cut off..I think I had a setting wrong.

Yes I work in IT. Yes, I should know this. Lol

IT and scanning are two different things.

We used to scan a lot of photos for our newspaper. Getting a handle on DPI, size, etc. takes awhile. That and every scanner seems to have a different way of relaying that information. I'd suggest scanning it at 110% and 300 DPI. Or some combination thereof.

Fight!

Whoever is the least busy I guess? I'd be willing to pay if that helps.

No fight, if I can lend a hand I'm willing to help.

IT and scanning are two different things.

We used to scan a lot of photos for our newspaper. Getting a handle on DPI, size, etc. takes awhile. That and every scanner seems to have a different way of relaying that information. I'd suggest scanning it at 110% and 300 DPI. Or some combination thereof.

No fight, if I can lend a hand I'm willing to help.