subaru experts needed.

NFF

Car(s)
1983 rx7, 2002 legacy L wagon
im looking at a 2002 subaru legacy wagon. (BH) with 233k km on it the body looks to be in decent shape. i'v driven it once a good while ago it seemed to be strong and drive well but dident get much time with it and its been such a long time that i cant remember it. with that milage on it what are the usual problems and how much do they usually run? i dont rembmer what engine its got. either. i should get a email back from the dealer soon.

heres the listing with pics.
http://www.haas.nissan.ca/PreOwnedV...2403441/vin/Empty/language/en-US/Default.aspx

That car looks very nice for so many miles. As a high-milage Subaru owner myself I can attest to their hardiness after an already long life. I'm no expert as you'd like to hear from, but I can tell you that the problems I've had with mine have primarily been flukes or issues that were passed on from the absent-minded previous owner (my uncle).

I run a 02 Outback, which is pretty much the same as the Legacy L wagons, only with some cladding on the sides and lifted suspension.

The 3rd Generation of the Legacy is basically straightforward. The BH has the "Phase II" block which is a SOHC motor that supposedly fixed the issues from the older "Phase 1" blocks from the last generation...many motors coming around 150K usually have leaky valve cover gaskets and also need there timing belts done as well. Plus the same time most owners do the infamous head gasket replacement.

Id look at all the seals, the pumps, belt, gaskets and the plug wires if you can to see if those things need to be replaced.

Suspension is different from previous generations as they changed the rear McPherson setup to a standard shock with spring combination. Allows a wider cargo bay which is useful.

Since its a manual you have full 50/50 AWD compared to the Autos which are 90/10 till slip(some say otherwise). I would also check the clutch as well to be safe.