The "New Toys" Thread

TVR_Fan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
592
Location
England
You must be loaded with Cash if you can save that much up in 2 months bud.
 

rootrider

Mr. TDI SportWagen
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
1,530
Location
Tacoma, WA (USA)
Car(s)
'95 E36 M3, '14 Panamera Turbo S


I know.. it's a relatively crappy Dell box. And yet, it's a p3/1ghz machine (these cpu's cost over $1k usd when they came out), with a 3com onboard nic. It's quiet and small. It's going to be my new router... :D

And then.. my new room, living with some friends, is my real new toy. Here's the latest computer setup:
 

jasonchiu

Forum Addict
Joined
May 26, 2004
Messages
5,216
Location
hong kong
damm u have so many computers...do u really need that many? whats the diff from a router that i use, like the one u just plug loads of wire in and the router u use, which is a computer (a bit of a waste?)
 

bigfoot1942

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
864
Location
Holland
rootrider said:
I know.. it's a relatively crappy Dell box. And yet, it's a p3/1ghz machine (these cpu's cost over $1k usd when they came out), with a 3com onboard nic. It's quiet and small. It's going to be my new router... :D
What Linux distribution is it you are using? its a shame imho to use a Dell for that since as far as i know Dell sells them only with Windows, so you probabely have a licence for Windows on that machine. (but i agree with you Linux is more suitable in this case)
 

Lilleput

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
3,168
Location
United Kingdom of Denmark
Car(s)
Ford S-Max Titanium - 268hp
Bought my evo some toys Friday and working on getting it all installed atm.

Navigation


And two of these for the frontseat headreasts (No one ever sits back there but thought it was gangsta hehe



The navi is in now just need to assault the headreasts tomorrow.
 

rootrider

Mr. TDI SportWagen
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
1,530
Location
Tacoma, WA (USA)
Car(s)
'95 E36 M3, '14 Panamera Turbo S
bigfoot1942 said:
rootrider said:
I know.. it's a relatively crappy Dell box. And yet, it's a p3/1ghz machine (these cpu's cost over $1k usd when they came out), with a 3com onboard nic. It's quiet and small. It's going to be my new router... :D
What Linux distribution is it you are using? its a shame imho to use a Dell for that since as far as i know Dell sells them only with Windows, so you probabely have a licence for Windows on that machine. (but i agree with you Linux is more suitable in this case)
uhmm.. it's OpenBSD.. as can be seen in the photo :)
Yes, the dell probably had a Windows license attached to it, but I've never seen that. I just had the box given to me for use as a router a little while ago.
 

bihus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2003
Messages
4,618
Location
Portugal
Car(s)
BMW 330Cd
Wasn't this the "New Toys thread", not the "your desk" or "your computer" one?
 
Top