The "New Toys" Thread

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
20,970
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT


Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB (WD20EARS).

First step in hard drive space upgrade I'm planning in this PC. Second step will be another 1TB 7200rpm drive for a RAID0 stripe with the current system drive, and the (potential) third step will be an SSD to speed up the system even further; the system and most used software will then go onto the SSD, games and all other software onto the 1TB RAID0 stripe, and data goes onto the today's newcomer 2TB (which will probably also get a twin for a RAID1 mirror at some point).
RAID 0 SSD :D
 

Eye-Q

Forum Addict
DONOR
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
5,427
Location
Hamburg, Autobahnland
Car(s)
None anymore...
Second step will be another 1TB 7200rpm drive for a RAID0 stripe with the current system drive, and the (potential) third step will be an SSD to speed up the system even further;[/QUOTE]
A RAID 0 won't give you a noticeable better system response whereas even the slowest of the current SSDs will get you a massive boost. Sequential transfer rate isn't that important for responsiveness of the OS (you won't feel the difference between an SSD with 200 MB/s and an SSD with 500 MB/s), but a dramatically lowered access time is. With a RAID 0 you won't get those low access times of one SSD.

Even if the CPU isn't that fast it's still incredible how much faster a rig is with an SSD. I just installed an SSD in the notebook of a friend of mine (Core 2 Duo 2x1,6 GHz, 4 GB RAM) and it's clearly much faster than before.
 

prizrak

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
20,970
Location
No, sleep, till, BROOKLYN
Car(s)
11 Xterra Pro-4x, 12 'stang GT
A RAID 0 won't give you a noticeable better system response whereas even the slowest of the current SSDs will get you a massive boost. Sequential transfer rate isn't that important for responsiveness of the OS (you won't feel the difference between an SSD with 200 MB/s and an SSD with 500 MB/s), but a dramatically lowered access time is. With a RAID 0 you won't get those low access times of one SSD.

Even if the CPU isn't that fast it's still incredible how much faster a rig is with an SSD. I just installed an SSD in the notebook of a friend of mine (Core 2 Duo 2x1,6 GHz, 4 GB RAM) and it's clearly much faster than before.
+1 on that, random IO is where SSD shines and that's what you are doing 90% of the time while using your PC.
 

narf

Sgt. Maj. Buzzkill
DONOR
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
18,175
Location
Kiel/Wherever, Germany
Car(s)
'19 BMW M240i
A RAID 0 won't give you a noticeable better system response whereas even the slowest of the current SSDs will get you a massive boost. Sequential transfer rate isn't that important for responsiveness of the OS (you won't feel the difference between an SSD with 200 MB/s and an SSD with 500 MB/s), but a dramatically lowered access time is. With a RAID 0 you won't get those low access times of one SSD.

Even if the CPU isn't that fast it's still incredible how much faster a rig is with an SSD. I just installed an SSD in the notebook of a friend of mine (Core 2 Duo 2x1,6 GHz, 4 GB RAM) and it's clearly much faster than before.
What he said.

My work laptop is fairly new, some quad-core Lenovo deal. However, it still is on a spinning magnetic platter... any operation that involves hard disk I/O is sloooooooooooooooooowwww :yawn:
My dad's laptop has similar specs in terms of RAM and CPU and all that, but I've talked him into having an SSD in it. The difference between the two is uncanny :burnrubber: :driving:

Soon I'll have it switched to an SSD, just telling the management "I'm wasting double digit minutes per day of valuable time waiting for the HDD" will certainly free up the cash :nod:
 
Last edited:

Buba

Wants Rick Astley's Babies
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
7,089
Location
Rottal-Inn
Car(s)
BMW M235i
where store is, and does they mail to finland?
also what win7?
Oh, sorry for the late reply, I was out a few days...
I bought it from the german online store drivecity, but prices have changed by now off course...

http://gh.de/a572589.html
http://gh.de/a486379.html
http://gh.de/a626831.html

Those are the components. The site lets you get the cheapest overall package from only 1 shop. right now thats planet4one.de They ship to finnland but its rather expensive up to 10kgs its 31,95 ?...

I installed win7pro 64bit on it, I have a msdnaa license.
 

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,194
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
Oh, sorry for the late reply, I was out a few days...
I bought it from the german online store drivecity, but prices have changed by now off course...

http://gh.de/a572589.html
http://gh.de/a486379.html
http://gh.de/a626831.html

Those are the components. The site lets you get the cheapest overall package from only 1 shop. right now thats planet4one.de They ship to finnland but its rather expensive up to 10kgs its 31,95 ?...

I installed win7pro 64bit on it, I have a msdnaa license.
i see the cheapest @ 1 place being "mindfactory.de", 297eur including some "Service Level Gold".
i was thingking of using 32bit msdnaa'd windows7premium and keep the 64bit for future ;)

My only concern is that the site doesn't have english version and i can't find the shipping costs :D
Anyway that thing might have to wait untill i gets money and mom needs new pc but 300eur+shipping + screen is abit :/
(there is/was some hp setup with 21,5" lcd for 400eur, don't remember the details of it anymore thought).
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,170
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
LCD BacPac for the GoPro HD:



Was going to buy it from their official site, but they wanted 114 usd for shipping. I THINK NOT!
Well, it's here and it's exactly as I expected. Poor resolution, extra power drain, but I can finally compose! Came with 4 separate doors (2 waterproof (for the normal and wrist housing) and 2 non-waterproof), so the mounts retain their functionality. We'll see how much of a power drain it'll be.
 

Buba

Wants Rick Astley's Babies
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
7,089
Location
Rottal-Inn
Car(s)
BMW M235i
i see the cheapest @ 1 place being "mindfactory.de", 297eur including some "Service Level Gold".
i was thingking of using 32bit msdnaa'd windows7premium and keep the 64bit for future ;)

My only concern is that the site doesn't have english version and i can't find the shipping costs :D
Anyway that thing might have to wait untill i gets money and mom needs new pc but 300eur+shipping + screen is abit :/
(there is/was some hp setup with 21,5" lcd for 400eur, don't remember the details of it anymore thought).
Screen? I didn't order or link one ;-)
mindfactory.de has 29,99 ? for EU wide shipping, but you have to pay via bank in advance...
 

KaJuN

Disco Inferno
Joined
Jul 31, 2006
Messages
9,745
Location
Dayton, Ohio
Car(s)
Mini Cooper S, Landy Series III, Vulcan 900 Custom
Lots of new toys for me over the last few weeks so I'll throw them all together:



Nikon SB-600 Speedlight with diffuser. I love this thing already!

Nikon ML-L3 remote release.

Hoya 72mm circular polarizer

Opteka white/black/grey color balance cards

Lenspen cleaning tool
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,170
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
Too bad you can't use both the battery and LCD bacpack at the same time. Or can you? o_O
 

Derek

Is Über
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
2,495
Location
?ire
Car(s)
We're finally gonna need a car where we're going.


Oh hells yeah, 32GB iPhone 4, new, for 200 less than normal retail price.
 

Derek

Is Über
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
2,495
Location
?ire
Car(s)
We're finally gonna need a car where we're going.
No, but you can look. :3
 
Top