The Ultimate OS X Thread

hansvonaxion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
2,839
Location
Tokyo
Car(s)
Legacy GT-B
I've never used iChat because of the AOL thing. I use Skype and it works great. So the only advice I can give you is try to convince your friend to use Skype instead.

Are your versions compatible? Maybe one of you needs to update, or revert.
 

Spectre

The Deported
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
36,869
Location
Dallas, Texas
Car(s)
00 4Runner | 02 919 | 87 XJ6 | 86 CB700SC
I've seen it before. Usually what it is is a misconfigured firewall or incompatible router on the PC side. If you'd like, at some point we could test it out to make sure that's what it is.

Also, did you set the bandwidth throttles in iChat? iChat menu:preferences:Audio/Video then down at the bottom set that to the minimum of 100kbps.
 

Jacobfox

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
3,544
Location
Madison, WI
Car(s)
VW GTI 4-Door (MKVI)
I just hackintoshed a dell mini 10V into a macbook mini, so I guess I'm the newest member of the OSX club. Anyone got any suggestions for killer apps, etc?
 

bobo_1314

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
1,065
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I just got my Macbook Pro a few days ago, so I'm a new Mac user too! Very happy with my laptop so far, except my wireless router always crashes so I lose connection sometimes. Any suggestions on what kind of wireless routers is good for Macs?
 

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
13,988
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
Any suggestions on what kind of wireless routers is good for Macs?
Any router, it doesn't matter whether it's Mac or PC.

But if you don't want dropped connections then you probably don't want Netgear products.
 

Clegko

Well-Known Member
DONOR
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
1,655
Location
Gaithersburg, MD
Car(s)
2016 Chevy Colorado, 1968 Mercury Monterey
I just got my Macbook Pro a few days ago, so I'm a new Mac user too! Very happy with my laptop so far, except my wireless router always crashes so I lose connection sometimes. Any suggestions on what kind of wireless routers is good for Macs?
Any decent one with a decent name. Netgear, Linksys, (I almost shutter to say it, but...) Belkin... As long as it's a name brand, you should be OK.
 

bobo_1314

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
1,065
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I'm using a SMC wireless router that I got 5 years ago; it was quite good for PCs, but not too good for Macs. The one that I got from my ISP (Telus Siemens SE567) was even worse; I lose my Internet - but not my wireless connection - every 15 minutes!! The SMC is better, but I'm looking for something that's more reliable. Do you folks have any recommendations as to which specify model will work? It seems Macs are more "choosey" as to wireless connections compared to PCs. Thanks!!
 

Jacobfox

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
3,544
Location
Madison, WI
Car(s)
VW GTI 4-Door (MKVI)
Apple stuff works best with other apple stuff in my experience. I'm not a huge mac user, but I do support a group of labs running mostly mac stuff and a network of student computers that's at least half mac.
 

Clegko

Well-Known Member
DONOR
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
1,655
Location
Gaithersburg, MD
Car(s)
2016 Chevy Colorado, 1968 Mercury Monterey
I'm using a SMC wireless router that I got 5 years ago; it was quite good for PCs, but not too good for Macs. The one that I got from my ISP (Telus Siemens SE567) was even worse; I lose my Internet - but not my wireless connection - every 15 minutes!! The SMC is better, but I'm looking for something that's more reliable. Do you folks have any recommendations as to which specify model will work? It seems Macs are more "choosey" as to wireless connections compared to PCs. Thanks!!
Any Linksys/Sysco router won't do you wrong, I will say.
 

Spectre

The Deported
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
36,869
Location
Dallas, Texas
Car(s)
00 4Runner | 02 919 | 87 XJ6 | 86 CB700SC
Whereas Netgear routers may route your packets off to god knows where.

Anyway, most of the issue with "Mac Router Compatibility" comes from weird implementations of passwords/passcodes/keys for wireless networks. I would say Linksys/Cisco, D-Link, then Belkin in that order.
 

bobo_1314

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
1,065
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I quite like the Apple Airport Extreme, but at $200CAD with no discount in sight, it's a bit expensive. I would take a look at LinkSys and D-Link as I've heard very good things about them. Thanks for your suggestions folks, greatly appreciated it!!
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,879
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
My Linksys PCI wifi card is rather shitty. The drivers are unreliable (I have to disable and enable the card all the time). I got a much better experience out of the $20 Belkin card I picked up 6 years ago that still works great in my brother's PC.
 

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,198
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
My Linksys PCI wifi card is rather shitty. The drivers are unreliable (I have to disable and enable the card all the time). I got a much better experience out of the $20 Belkin card I picked up 6 years ago that still works great in my brother's PC.
erm isn't that the why broadcom's wlan-cards are so widely used, as linksys/cisco makes working routers.
 

hansvonaxion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
2,839
Location
Tokyo
Car(s)
Legacy GT-B
I use an Airport Xpress (?) and I'm pretty happy with it. Use it for wireless printing and used to use it for Airtunes and streaming movie audio but not anymore. It was overheating for a while but not anymore.

I did have a Buffalo router and had the same problem as Bobo (inet dropping out intermittently but connection OK) but I think that was because I set it up wrong - something to do with the ip address being self assigned or some such nonsense.
 

bobo_1314

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
1,065
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I haven't experienced any dropouts for a whole day (knock on wood), so I think I have some time to wait for either a discount for the Airport Extreme, or shop for a LinkSys/D-Link router in the next 2 weeks. Right now my most immediate concern is my cheap Microsoft mouse, as the scroll wheel is broken. The Magic Mouse (I've used up all my USB ports, so I need a Bluetooth mouse) is out of stock, so I have to wait.
 

katwalk

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
10,319
Car(s)
2003 VW Beetle, 2017 Abarth Fiat 500c
surprisingly, now that it is in range I rarely have issues with my actiontec verizon one :blink:
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
I haven't experienced any dropouts for a whole day (knock on wood), so I think I have some time to wait for either a discount for the Airport Extreme, or shop for a LinkSys/D-Link router in the next 2 weeks. Right now my most immediate concern is my cheap Microsoft mouse, as the scroll wheel is broken. The Magic Mouse (I've used up all my USB ports, so I need a Bluetooth mouse) is out of stock, so I have to wait.
D-Link, LinkSys or Netgear are 100% fine.
 

nsx_23

Forum Addict
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
7,709
Hmm, so I finished installing the new 500GB HD into my MB pro today, and I'm wondering why it seems to be running a bit more sluggish than before. They're both 5400rpm drives, so there shouldn't be much of a speed difference.

I've already repaired disk permissions and verified the disk using disk utility. Might it be just because I simply copied everything over to the new HD via time machine that its running a bit weird?
 

killpanda

wants to fondle your manboobs
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
4,993
Location
HK
Damn, never create rules to automagically move all your FinalGear mails into a separate folder, I haven't checked them in a week :-D

For your problem, Time Machine is known to cause some cases of sluggishness, the best way to do things is to directly clone the old drive on the new one using Disk Utility for instance :)
 
Top