Windows 7, so who's tried it?

WirelessMonkey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
874
Location
Oxfordshire, UK
Car(s)
MK1 Golf Driver
Just thought i'd make a thread so people who have the beta can share there experience's with others.

I downloaded it and used vmware fusion to have it as a virtual machine on my macbook, and its not too bad. Looks quite nice but then again so does vista and thats awful. I think they have improved it though, ie 8 is quite nice, i mean i will still use firefox but nice to see there still improving it. Has some nice new features such as "Suggested Sites" that tells you some sites you may like to visit. Also there's a compatibility viewer so you can view pages designed for older versions of Microsoft's Browser.

I have some screenshots that i got of different aspects of it, but i will put them up upon requests. So anyway, your opinions?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Quiky

Isn't really scary, honest
STAFF MEMBER
Joined
Aug 21, 1995
Messages
5,445
We don't promote or allow piracy discussion here.

and at the request of other parties, the leading post has been edited, and the topic is re-opened.

Again, no discussion or mentioning downloading of or the piracy of such software. Microsoft is not known for their kindness towards pirates.
 
Last edited:

Galantti

Is all about the suomibass
DONOR
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,193
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Car(s)
Audi A7, Ford Fiesta Van, Honda NM4 Vultus
We don't promote or allow piracy discussion here.

and at the request of other parties, the leading post has been edited, and the topic is re-opened.

Again, no discussion or mentioning downloading of or the piracy of such software. Microsoft is not known for their kindness towards pirates.
[angry pirate sound] jharr mi buuty[/angry pirate sound]
 

vikiradTG2007

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
11,084
Location
The country UKIP is scared of
Car(s)
Working on it
I might be looking towards a new OS when I've got enough money for a CPU or graphics card upgrade. Might go for this if it's more stable than Vista and looks as good as it, or maybe even better. Screenshots please?
 

Peter3hg

Forum Addict
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
5,949
Location
Manchester, UK
Car(s)
Audi A3 1.4 TFSI Honda Hornet CB600S
Tomorrow (Friday). Supposedly it will be available to download from various places on the Microsoft site.
 

jensked

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
4,053
According to what i've read on www.winsupersite.com, it's supposed to be quite good...

I don't dig that new taskbar, but then again, i haven't tried it yet. Maybe it's superb.
 

gtrietsc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
1,582
Location
Allen, TX USA
Car(s)
'07 Ford F-150 FX4, '06 BMW M5
Yea, public beta tomorrow. Not sure I want to wipe my main machine, but I will definately be firing it up in a VM.
 

Phila

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
3,895
Location
Philadelphia
Car(s)
1995 Subaru Legacy, 2008 Subaru Legacy
I hate to be one of these guys, but I would much rather stick with XP rather than go for Vista or Windows 7.

Is it true that XP will only recognize 3.xx GB of ram? If so, why not just keep improving XP so you could max out your system and have your OS utilize your system.
 

Peter3hg

Forum Addict
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
5,949
Location
Manchester, UK
Car(s)
Audi A3 1.4 TFSI Honda Hornet CB600S
I hate to be one of these guys, but I would much rather stick with XP rather than go for Vista or Windows 7.

Is it true that XP will only recognize 3.xx GB of ram? If so, why not just keep improving XP so you could max out your system and have your OS utilize your system.
2 to the 32 is potentially 4GB of memory addresses. However, loads of IO equipment needs memory addresses to operate. The main one in a graphics card. If you have a 512MB graphics card, you straight away lose 512MB of memory addresses so your theoretical maximum is down to 3.5GB.
The potential maximum for 64 bit systems is much higher. 2 to the 64 is 16 million TB (I think they are called Exxobytes). I think Vista Ultimate currently can handle 128GB of ram and the lower levels can handle 8GB.
 

MadCow809

Forum Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
6,375
Tried it about a month or two ago, it still looks pretty much like Vista, which I'm happy with.
 

ahpadt

Forum Addict
DONOR
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
9,825
Location
London
Since I'm hired as support at Microsoft, Win7 beta will be easy to get. In fact, I'm gonna install it on my crap laptop at work tomorrow. Report will follow. :)
 

katwalk

Forum Addict
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
10,235
Car(s)
2003 VW Beetle, 2017 Abarth Fiat 500c
I think i will wait a bit. Nothing EVER works the first day for me. FF3 took a whole week to even be able to start on my computer wtf.
 
Top