Your Camera Equipment

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,178
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
I find it hard to believe it's limited to the FPS, more likely that was extrapolated from the write speed test, which was probably done at ISO 100, so that's around 34 MB/s. The largest size raw I've seen from the 6D in a comprehensive review was 34 MB, and at 1.4 fps that would make it 48 MB/s, so a 50 MB/s card will be just fine.
 

Boobo-oobo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
737
Location
Croatia, Zagreb
Car(s)
e46 330xd Touring
that would be my conclusion then, yes. go with maybe a 50MB/s card to compensate for the cardmaker lying about the speed and you should be good :D

edit: personally i'm using transcend cards rated at 90MB/s (with a olympus e-m10 that is...). they've treated me well this far and are not what i'd consider expensive (paid 18?/32gb i think).
I find it hard to believe it's limited to the FPS, more likely that was extrapolated from the write speed test, which was probably done at ISO 100, so that's around 34 MB/s. The largest size raw I've seen from the 6D in a comprehensive review was 34 MB, and at 1.4 fps that would make it 48 MB/s, so a 50 MB/s card will be just fine.
Thanks. Looks like the 80MB/s was too fast after all :D
 

BerserkerCatSplat

Hormone Induced
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
9,551
Location
Alberta, Canada
Car(s)
The Jeep of Theseus, Angry Wagon
Yeah, the 6D's write speed is hardware-limited to about 40MB/s so the 80MB/s card is pretty overkill. Any of the 50MB/s cards on the market should be fine for making sure there's no bottleneck.
 

killpanda

wants to fondle your manboobs
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
4,993
Location
HK
There's more to the card than the camera's speed, if you have a fast card reader you'll get the photos on the computer faster with one of those 95MB/s cards.
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,178
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
Yeah, but these cards usually read a lot faster than they write. And if you want to go faster than 60 MB/s, you're gonna need a USB 3 one and I don't know how many people want to dedicate one of the few USB 3 ports to a card reader.
 

killpanda

wants to fondle your manboobs
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
4,993
Location
HK
The card reader in pretty much all Apple's computers are connected directly on their own PCI Express channel, these things are quick.
 

XYZviper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
1,537
Location
Lithuania
Car(s)
TOYOTA Yaris
Bought this for 47 EUR. Found it 13 - 20 EUR cheaper than in other shops so bought it. Even if it is to fast for the camera I wont have to buy a new one if I ever get a better camera in the future. And they give a life time waranty. So ech :)

Only I dont know why every where it has a golden top with red writing, mine is all black with gold writing. And at sandisk.com the black one are 280 MB/s.

 
Last edited:

eizbaer

Forum Addict
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
5,620
Location
Aachen, Germany
Car(s)
Seat Leon
can anyone tell me why that card is so goddamn expensive? is it just because it says sandisk on it? (see above, got the transcend 90MB/s card for less than half that 18?/32gb)
 

Bobele23

Well-Known Member
DONOR
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
1,771
Location
Germany Osnabrueck, Karmann Ghia City
Car(s)
03' BMW 525i touring - Bernadette
The Sandisk Extreme Pro Version has Read and Write Speeds of 90 MB/s, which is comparabel to this similar priced Transcend Version
http://www.amazon.de/Transcend-UHS-I-Extreme-Speicherkarte-Schreiben/dp/B00J3KA904/ref=pd_sim_sbs_computers_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1603FB92ZW8667FKZP1Q

Such write Speeds are actually only needed for high bitrates - Ultra HD (4k) - and or high FPS rowshots. That's why the first and second Generation Canon MK7D uses Compact Flash Cards. Those have write speeds of up to 160MB/s. For everything else 50MB/s is actually more than enough for normal people.

Though the extrem pro is alot tougher then "normal" SD-Cards,
. I've got Panasonics Gold's (which are similar to extreme Pro's) in 16GB and 8Gb that I got for Cheap and they still work, although they're several years old now.
 
Last edited:

Black Z Eddie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,229
Location
San Jacinto, CA
Car(s)
'06 350Z
I tried using the Sandisk Extreme Pro on my A77 a while back. For some reason, I would get a database corruption error. WTF. "database corruption". It's almost equivalent to BSOD (blue screen of death). Ended up using Sony's 94 mb/s. Though, the Sandisk worked well on my NEX-5N.
 

Black Z Eddie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,229
Location
San Jacinto, CA
Car(s)
'06 350Z
I just let the camera format it.

With that said, "exFat" sounds so familiar. But, I can't remember if I did. I very vaguely remember Googling it and trying different ways because I so wanted it to work. I wanted to see if it made it big difference....that, and it was on sale. :)
 

IceBone

Blue Wheel Hipster
DONOR
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
27,178
Location
Slovenistan
Car(s)
Audi A5 Quattro
exFAT is like FAT, but allows for files larger than 4GB. Then again, I tried it in my D7000... and no cigar.

But if you formatted it in-camera, it shouldn't go wrong.
 

Adunaphel

KLAUWD
STAFF MEMBER
DONOR
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
11,568
Location
Fermany
Car(s)
'18 Clio; '13 Cube Hyde
ExFAT is a proprietary Microsoft Filesystem. If your camera doesn't support it, you're SOL.
 

XYZviper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
1,537
Location
Lithuania
Car(s)
TOYOTA Yaris
Great, bought this Pro SD card and it doesnt support the XAVC S recording on the camera :( What memorry card does support it?

So it had to be SDXC and mine is SDHC! Great! 47 EUR down the drain...

Oh well, dont plan to film something very profesional or whatever. If I ever think in trying out to films something good, will have to buy another SD card :)

Just disappointed, because I like to have everything in one pacage. That everything must work. :(

Bought this for 47 EUR. Found it 13 - 20 EUR cheaper than in other shops so bought it. Even if it is to fast for the camera I wont have to buy a new one if I ever get a better camera in the future. And they give a life time waranty. So ech :)

Only I dont know why every where it has a golden top with red writing, mine is all black with gold writing. And at sandisk.com the black one are 280 MB/s.

 
Last edited:

Bobele23

Well-Known Member
DONOR
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
1,771
Location
Germany Osnabrueck, Karmann Ghia City
Car(s)
03' BMW 525i touring - Bernadette
according to the sony codec, you'll need an "SD Extended Capacity (SDXC?)" SD Card which start at 64GB ! And is an different SD Card Standard, - "SDA 3.0 Spezifikation ". SDHC is only 2.0 ... :(
Info taken from the FDR-AX100 tech. spec. sheets.
 

XYZviper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
1,537
Location
Lithuania
Car(s)
TOYOTA Yaris
Sandisk has all types off capasitie cards in SDXC format. But here in Lithuania I only found Lexar and starting from 64GB, and they are at least double the price that I have paid for 45Mb/s.

I'll wait... Like I said, not geting in to movies.
 

XYZviper

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
1,537
Location
Lithuania
Car(s)
TOYOTA Yaris
Now I have red if I get a SDXC car, there might me issues that my computer might not read it. I run Win XP SP3 with USB2. Any suggestions?

Called the shop where I bought the card, they agreed in good will to change it to Sandisk Extreme 64Gb 45Mb/s. I guess that should be enough to have all the fetures on my RX100 M3 :(
 
Top