Ownership Verified: My 1989 Mercedes 300 SEL

Jupix

2013 has been a year of change. I got my Bachelor's degree and was fortunate enough to find employment even before I was out of school.

Unfortunately the office is 7km away from my home and this is right through the city center, with many traffic lights and dual lane avenues. Doing this commute there and back every day in the 560 SEC just doesn't make sense. For 8am, having just got out of bed, and 16pm, after a hard day at work, it's too loud, too low, too uncomfortable and too powerful (I'm in constant fear of being ticketed after a brisk acceleration). Also I have fallen in love with it too much to ask it to ferry me around short distances at least twice a day.

So long story short I needed a commuter box, in a nutshell, something more boring. Something with 4 doors, smaller engine, quieter, normal suspension and ride height, fewer systems to go wrong, etc.

In 2012 I got the vision of having a V126 for getting around in addition to the C126 for sunday drives. It would have to be the latest and greatest six-cylinder for the fuel economy and simplicity, and the langversion because if I'm getting a sedan, it's going to be a sedan all the way. :p

Making this vision happen turned out to be more involved than you might think. It appears 300 SEL models are extremely few and far between in this country. Despite it being the quintessential Finnish-spec limousine (large body and small engine with few amenities), there aren't many around, and I guess there never were. Most examples I could find were rotted, neglected cars. Some were promising but had deal-breaker niggles (retrofitted power windows, lots of bodywork done, suspiciously bad photographs, and so on).

I even exhausted the bush radio of the Finnish M-B club. Apparently no one even knows anyone has a car like this, let alone owns one and is willing to sell.