Motorcycle nuts, get on in here.

Jay

the fool on the hill
So the wife and I are kicking around the idea of getting a motorcycle. She was thinking of a moped, but I thought that was silly, since you cannot use them on Interstates, you look silly if you are A) not on a Vespa and B) over the age of 25, and you cannot realistically drive them for more than twenty miles.

A few points to consider:

-I am 5' 7", she is 5' 5". I only weigh 125 pounds. Wet.

-We do not want some crotch rocket or cafe racers, just a basic upright bike.

-Used and under five years is fine. Nothing older.

-Something under 500cc's.

-Something under $5000.

What do you all think would be a good bike?

I wish I could help, but since I have NO knowledge of the bikes available to you or even their prices, I can't give you any advice.
But I can praise you for thinking about it! :)

Honda Shadow VLX (583cc). - a bit larger than you want, but not by much.

Long production run
Available in a variety of engine sizes
Manageable power delivery
Shaft drive for low maintenance
Comfortable for passenger and rider (especially with an added "sissy bar" and an aftermarket seat - I recommend Mustang)
It's a Honda and will run forever.

Don't get so caught up with engine size, it's power that you should be looking at. Some smaller engines are tuned to deliver more power than other, larger engines. Twins will be different than inline 4s which are different than V4s. Cruiser motors, like the one in the Shadow, have a very different power delivery than the 600cc motors in sport bikes like the CBR.