My Supercar Track Day

Wow, that's fantastic - looks like you had one hell of a great time! Thanks for taking the time to write up your experiences and thoughts, it's great to read an opinion of someone who's experienced such cars first-hand and who says it like it is. I'm extremely jealous. :p

And, any more thoughts on the F430? And, any pictures?!

:threadnopics:

The F430 was really just an exercise in how perfect a car can be. Maybe I'm not experienced enough, but it was flawless. That car is all about the driver. Everything was in reach or in focus. I can see how after a very short time you would no longer be focusing on where things were or how they worked, just purely on the driving at hand. The car shows you up for what kind of driver you really are because the car gets absolutely NOTHING WRONG. If there's a problem buddy, it's you. Not true of all the other cars, expect the Ford GT. (The Ford GT was really the American "Ferrari" in terms of what people perceive as excellence but minus all the assistance - exceptional, but instead all about torque and horse power! Sadly, the GT's interior materials seemed like they were made by Tonka.)

It was funny to get out of the car and have nothing negative to say to make yourself feel better, that car really just showed me up as a poor, talentless race driver. :)

The instructor next to me kept teasing me with stuff like "ah, saved again" when I'd screw up the entry and suffer at the apex or exit while the F430 traction control saved my ass.

They'll send me pictures hopefully this week.

The R8 doesn't have a double clutch gearbox, but a manual that gets operated via the electronics. That may explain your experience. I don't think they call it DSG in the R8 either, but R-tronic.

Robo-tronic

i think the S-Tronics are the DSG ones right? or do they just call it DSG like VW do?