Suitable satnav for deaf older person?

Wyvern

Car(s)
Triumph Herald 1200, in need of arse transplant
A friend on another forum I belong to wants to get her elderly father a satnav for Christmas but she's never used one herself so isn't sure what to buy, and as I've never used one either I'm about as much use as a chocolate fireguard on the subject. Any ideas? This is what she's looking for...

OK, I need some advice here. My Dad wants a SatNav for Christmas. Given his complete lack of sense of direction it's a good idea. The only thing is he's a bit deaf and finds complicated, fiddly controls hard to use.

As I get my sense of direction from my Mum, I have no experience of SatNavs. I have spoken to a couple of people, including the RNID, who say that, although he could link it to the loop setting on his hearing aid, everything else would be cut out (Police sirens, horns etc) so that's not a very good idea. Apparently you can also tune the car radio in to them, but presumably that means you can't listen to the radio on the journey. Is this right? Or does it butt in to whatever you're listening to when it has something to say?

It looks like TomTom are the better make, but does anyone have any suggestions about models that are straightforward to use and have a good, loud speaker and a clear voice option? Or something that is good but less expensive than Tom Tom?

Any suggestions gratefully received!

Don't, my grandparents bought me one for christmas and they tried to set it up for me before I got it, putting in my house as a destination and such and it was nothing but an epic failure, old people can't do technology its just a fact.