My D200 producing funny noise/grain, could it be borked?

Here is a 400 percent crop to see what its like...

Hmm... Is this normal?

Go to Advanced -> Gimmicks -> Games under main menu and uncheck Maze.

Seriously though, judging from your experience I fairly confidently assume you're shooting raws (nefs whatever), so I'd blame the converter software first. Normally this sort of moir/aliasing only appears when you're shooting some aligned lines at nearly maximum lens resolving density.

Check your raws with a raw viewing software (the one that shows exact Bayer patterns). Don't remember the name as I'm a film guy, but there is one out there.

Edit:
Here you go, someone agrees with me!

Last edited:
^ well ok, but i dont see that being a too useful a test... i know im not that good at photography but i'd never underexpose anything by 8 stops. thats like creating a situation that doesnt really exist, to prove a point. its moot.

Well, uh, duh. I'd hope you wouldn't be underexposing by 8 stops, but the test was to show just how far you could push Raw data as opposed to JPEG. That example alone should have been enough to show you how much more exposure and colour data Raw contains. Exposure latitude can be more beneficial than you might think!

i was reading on ken rockwells site and he reckons that most of the time, raw is a waste of time. especially for action shots. he did some comparos and you can actually see that the jpg is more vibrant, but has a little less contrast/detail/sharpening than the Raw which has been able to retain the details in the bushes n trees much better. the Raw does actually look better, but this was on a D200 @100% crop.