2009 Formula 1 Pre-Season Thread

Being a noob too, i cant imagine how anyone can draw any conclusion from those two pics. We don't know how many laps each car did, what settings they used or even if they used the same tires...

I'm a noob. So who is worse off in the tire wear ? Fezza or Macca ?

From those two pics, it's impossible to draw conclusions. Besides, I dont think you can judge it as to me it looks more like marbles/debris that have accumulated on the Ferrari tyre.

Report on today's testing...

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/73494

Vettel dominates first day at Jerez

By Jonathan Noble Sunday, March 1st 2009, 16:46 GMT

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Jerez testing March 2009Sebastian Vettel continued to show the potential of his Red Bull Racing RB5 on Sunday when he ended the opening day of this week's group test in Jerez comfortably clear of the opposition.

The German was 1.3 seconds in front of Felipe Massa in the Ferrari on a day affected by a midday shower, as all the current 2009 machinery came together.

Massa was conducting set-up work but he lost some track time following an off-track excursion in the early afternoon.

Toyota marked their return to European testing, following two weeks in Bahrain, with test driver Kumui Kobayashi setting the third best time as he focused on aerodynamic evaluation work.

"This morning was my first real chance to try out the TF109 in dry conditions," said the Japanese. "From the first run the car felt easy to drive so we were able to get straight into our programme of aero work. It certainly feels like a step forward from last year.

"The shower interrupted our afternoon but we still made it through our programme. Overall it went well so this was a good day of testing for us."

Nico Rosberg was fourth fastest for Williams, ahead of Robert Kubica in the BMW Sauber and Giancarlo Fisichella in the new Force India.