Computer Lock ups

buckers13

Car(s)
Nissan 300zx
Hey guys,

I'm having problem with my new computer build. It seems at any random time my system will just completely lock up, (mouse/keyboard stuck) and i'm having a hard time figuring out why.
I'm thinking it is either a driver issue or a harddrive issue. (This is being written in safe mode and it hasn't locked up in safe mode)

This is my hardware...

AMD Phenom II x2 550
MSI 790FX-GD70
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3
PC Power and cooling 750Watt PSU
Nvidia 7600 (Will be replaced soon anyway)
Western Digital 500GB hdd (I believe to be the culprit even though tis brand new.)

I'm still kinda new with computers but not so super noob, so any advice/help would be great.

Thanks, Chris.

Are the temperatures you are getting normal? (CPU, GPU, etc.) It may be a disconnected power cable to one of the fans...

I actually doubt it is the hard drive, because then it would freeze up once, and then stop working for ever. But next tim eit freezes up, listen to the sound the drive is making. If it clicks with regular intervals it could wel be ruined, but if not, I don't think that's the problem...

I'm having the same problem.
But my computer isn't new.
So I'm thinking memory or graphic card issues? Altough... I allready did a memtest and that seemed fine.

My temperatures are normal. CPU is 28C. Hard drive doesn't click when it fails.
I've tried with 1 stick of RAM at a time , but still same thing. I've got my new graphics card on the way, so time will tell. I'm guessing it's driver issues, as safe mode works completely fine and hasn't locked up yet.

My temperatures are normal. CPU is 28C. Hard drive doesn't click when it fails.
I've tried with 1 stick of RAM at a time , but still same thing. I've got my new graphics card on the way, so time will tell. I'm guessing it's driver issues, as safe mode works completely fine and hasn't locked up yet.