Updated Mazda RX-8 Headed for Frankfurt Motor Show

Ugh. I'm tired of health and safety getting in the way of nature's own law - natural selection. If you're stupid enough to be in the way, you deserve to die!

There is such a thing as crosswalks you know...

The people in this thread need to realize how many people crossing the road safely get run over by teens, drunks and bad drivers. I've had some terrible personal experience with that.

I suspect that urban roads in europe can be completely different to urban roads here with respect to the interaction between motorized and pedestrian traffic, making minor collisions more frequent and needing a look by car designers. I dont mean the full run-over shebang, but maybe a tap at 5MPH on a person who was a little overeager to cross in a hurry.

A popup headlight can mean the difference between a scratch and a broken wrist. Its not as pretty or cool, but i see where they are going with that.

The people in this thread need to realize how many people crossing the road safely get run over by teens, drunks and bad drivers. I've had some terrible personal experience with that.

Exactly. We're all pedestrians at some point, and we can do everything right and still get hit by someone in the wrong, or someone who's just made a mistake. That's why pedestrian safety is important.

The world is too damn safe.

There is such a thing as crosswalks you know...

I'm being an asshole, don't take me too seriously there. Obviously there are times where innocent people are struck by drivers who are doing the wrong thing. You can't trust anyone

What's so hard about "look both ways and be prepared to run like hell?"

The other thing is what people who insist on these stupid pedestrian safety nonsense measures don't seem to understand. YOU'RE GETTING HIT BY TWO TONS OF METAL. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT YOU DO!!!!