Official Discussion Thread of the 2009 Formula 1 Season

What does the equity-type buyout mean?

What does the equity-type buyout mean?

As far as i understand, it means that they will just buy a part of the team to participate in profits and losses, but not take control of the team in any way... participating financially without influencing the team.

EDIT: In other words, they found a way to put their star on Brawn's cars without questioning McLaren being their only factory team.

Last edited:
So they're like CEO? Sorry, I'm not good at finance related stuff at all.

So they're like CEO? Sorry, I'm not good at finance related stuff at all.

Exactely the opposite. They'll simply invest money in Brawn (thus making the team "Mercedes" enough to put the star on the cars) and get a share in whatever profits they will be (as it's a F1 team, none). As they won't intervene with the day-to-day business, it still won't be a factory team, even if a siginficant share of it would be factory-owned.

Ahh... ok! I get it. Only financial investment, no decision making. Couldn't they threaten stuff like "do this or do that or we'll withdraw funding?" Isn't that decision making as well?

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/78399

So F1 might be on its way to becoming Formula Mercedes-Benz. :lol:

Fuck it's making me sick. I blame it partly on Mercedes's success, but mainly on the freeze of F1 engine development. The idea of all Cosworth engine grid was ridiculous as well. This is not good for the sport.

Bring back Michelin, Pirelli and Goodyear. Bring back the good old Honda engine. I hate standardised machinery and components. :(

ALONSO IS RED?!

ALONSO IS RED?!

Ahh... ok! I get it. Only financial investment, no decision making. Couldn't they threaten stuff like "do this or do that or we'll withdraw funding?" Isn't that decision making as well?