In a bit of rut me thinks....perhaps studying engineering was a mistake

Seems to me most people I meet don't work in the field their degree is in. I know a guy who skipped college and a journalism degree to travel Southern Asia and Patagonia, got back to the states worried he'd never find a decent job. And yet he got an interview everywhere he went because his resume automatically made him interesting, and he spent half the interview talking about climbing mountains and yaks and stuff.

Don't worry, do what makes you happy, and be honest about why your doing it.

I would like to end up either here:

f22_cockpit_image.jpg

or here:

1320408.jpg

Preferably in the correct seat :)

What I really want from my uni is much more hands-on learning. I'm not very good at book learning, but throw me an experiment which demonstrates a concept and I'll remember it for life and be able to figure out how all the equations, etc tie in with one another. For some strange reason course planners can't seem to understand that GOOD experiments stimulate learning interest and help students retain information.

hands on learning costs money every year, books only have to be bought once and kept until they go out of relevance.

if you haven't noticed people dont like recurring costs when they have a cheaper single alternative.

The problem also stems from the fact that some people have the wrong idea of what engineers do. They'll say "I want to design jet fighters" and while that could be possible in theory, in practise the situation is a lot different.

Engineers commonly only spend 40% of their time doing actual "engineering" work and the remainder "managing".