Need some help with my lense choice, to make my photos better

Mercedes5CLR

Car(s)
2014 Ford Taurus
Hi guys, i have been looking into buying some lenses for my Nikkon D90. It came with an standard 100mm , and a telescoping 200mm-300mm lense. At the moment i am getting photos like this. I want to get closer to the action with less picture noise. Here are some of my better pictures. Also some of these have been edited by Picasa.

Please give me some advice i am a complete novice but, have had some good results..

Picture299.jpg

Picture604.jpg

Picture496.jpg

Picture418.jpg

Picture640.jpg

Picture280.jpg

Picture182-1.jpg

Picture104.jpg

Picture078.jpg

Picture074.jpg

Picture062.jpg

Picture054.jpg

Mustangtest2.jpg

Last edited:
I'm seeing it, but not yours.

Your 300mm is not long enough?!

You could get a teleconverter which would give your focal length a 40%, 70% or 100% focal length boost but with the lenses you are using you will probably lose autofocus (which is useless for what you want to do). The best thing you could probably do would be to hire a Nikon AF-S VR 200-400mm f/4 lens along with a Nikon AF-S TC-20E III teleconverter, that would give you 200-400 without the teleconverter and 400-800 with it. The hire cost may be quite expensive but as these events are probably pretty rare it should be worth it.

A longer lens isn't going to make your photos better. You're plenty close on most of those.

What I see are mostly snapshots taken in full-auto. Learn how to feel your composition from the subject and learn the mechanics and technique of actually using your camera.

We have a great Tutorials Section here.

It came with an standard 100mm , and a telescoping 200mm-300mm lense.
None of your shots are taken at focal lengths longer than 200mm. If your framing isn't tight enough, I'd suggest to zoom out further to 300mm, but I suspect the real problem is that you misunderstand the lenses you actually have. Maybe post some pictures of your lenses.