I'm an Idiot and I need XP-7 OS Help

Der Stig

Panda Proselytizer
DONOR
Car(s)
Furrin Crap
First of, I'm a moron and I simply swapped the hard drive from my old computer to my new mobo. Yes, I backed up the Docs and Settings folder, but I didn't make an XP boot disk or anything and I don't have an "i386" folder on my XP Pro partition on my Mac. I also don't have my Win 7 64-bit Ultimate upgrade disk here, it's at school.

I tried booting into safe mode, safe mode with command prompt, starting Windows normally and the last known good configuration. I do have an Ubuntu 8.X disk that's in it now so I can have some use of it, but I'm new to Ubuntu. I also have a Win 7 RC disk, but that's since expired and it failed to boot from it.

What I'd like to do is get XP reconfigured with an XP boot disk (I have an XP Home serial # from my old PC) and then download the Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit upgrade, install it and then input the product key once I get back to school next week.

Any solutions or am I pretty much boned?

5bs4ll.jpg

Thanks in advance.

Umm, its likely a hardware profile issue, try googling for some solutions to that (never did anythign like that)

I have been Googlin' and I guess I'm not really sure what I'm after. I've tried searching for i386 files, entire, pre-made XP boot disks and just anything about this problem in general- that's why I came here.

I tried Ubuntu 9.04 and it had a kernel panic running in "just let me try it" mode.

You should not have an "i386" folder. What would you need that for?

I don't know if they are still available, but you used to be able to download Windows 7 directly from Microsoft's partners. Maybe you can do that from Ubuntu and burn yourself a new copy?

Trying to move a Windows install from one computer to another is way more effort than it's worth, and must be started from the old computer (you have to fix some driver problems preemptively). Just get a copy of whatever install disk you want, and start from scratch.