The "New Toys" Thread

I treated myself to a new headset via work.
As the one that's sitting on my desk in the office is only one-ear and deprecated as far as desk equipment policy is concerned, and the one I've been using at home for the last two years is wired and therefore got on my nerves, I got a new wireless one, the Jabra Evolve 65 which is the standard one in my company.
Mic sounds a little muffled on first impression, but I'll reserve judgement until I've made a few video call using different computers (Windows 10 vs. Ubuntu), connections modes (dongle or plain bluetooth) and applications (MS Teams, Google Meet, ...).

Ive been given a Jabra Evolve2 40 since all pur calls are handled through the computer (+every f2f meeting is now done through Teams) and I’m very impressed. Sound quality (even noise cancellation) and comfort are very well, no more hurty ears after a whole day. Only niggle is the wire but hey, beggars cant be choosers.

I only remember Jabra from those old ‘BMW driver’ bluetooth earpieces from ages ago, but apparently they make some good stuff

Bluetooth earpieces are very much still a thing, used by most people that want both of their hands free while on the phone. I use Airpods Pro for this nowadays though.

I have a pair of Jabra 85h which you could say are music listening cans slightly skewed towards office use. Great ANC and great battery life. I just wish they had a bit more adjustment.

but apparently they make some good stuff
Headsets are one thing, but the conference room things they build (speaker/mic device for placing on the table) are seriously impressive. We had daily team meetings between the two halves of our team in different locations, each just using one of those placed somewhere on a desk in each room.

Really? Earpieces are still a thing? I cant understand why, most headsets double as a microphone just fine? And almost every car has a BT built in which has much better audio, automatically mutes your music, etc.

So...