LCD Monitors

SL65

Ambitious but rubbish!
Car(s)
1998 Subaru Legacy 2.5L
Can anyone here tell me what are the drawbacks (if any?) of buying cheap LCD monitors?

I'm searching for a 19" LCD monitor for my dad. I want to know what the big difference is between this nice $419AUD monitor and this $607 one.
The cheap one has a "12ms response rate" and the expensive one has 8ms. Is that a significant difference worth paying that much more for?

Theres a full list of monitors here, if you own any of them and can tell me if they are any good, it might help.

I'm no expert on the matter but I had a very cheap LCD once and recently moved up a bit. The main difference is illumination. The picture of my old LCD wasn't constant. It had areas near the frame that were a bit lighter than the center bit. Another factor is visibility. If you looked at the screen sideways or from an downwards/upwards angle, the colours changed and the picture became less vissible/brilliant. So you should look at it from every possible angle and see how it behaves once you're standing in front of it.

Regarding the response rate. My old panel had 24ms and even taht was enough for gaming. It blurred a little when you moved documents with black text very fast but it wasn't that dramatic. My new screen has 16ms and there's no blur at all. Not even in games. Well, you can't see a tiny ammount when you move the browser window like a monkey on ectasy, but I don't think you're planning to do that. Therefore I conclude that the difference is irrelevant.

Oh, one other thing. Online shopping isn't an option. At least here an LCD can have a certain ammount of dead pixels without you being entitled to a replacement. I've always checked the one I was going to buy at the store. Theres nothing more more annoying than unpacking your brand new LCD at home only to stare at a dead pixle right in the center of the screen.