That car you bought? We want it back

Blind_Io

"Be The Match" Registered
DONOR
Car(s)
See signature
Now, not being an American attorney I am against the rabid sueing that seems to afflict the USA, but in this case - sue their socks off. The USA is a capitalist country, OK, so when you get a great deal then it is hard luck on the vendor if they made a mistake, they are behaving like some sort of communists confiscating the poor punter's property.

The opposite situation happens ALL THE TIME. The sale is completed but the buyer comes back to return the car. If the customer wants to return it then there is nothing in the law to stop them from getting a refund. This often happens when a husband during his midlife crisis buys a sports car but is forced by his wife to return it the next day.

Z Draci said:
The opposite situation happens ALL THE TIME. The sale is completed but the buyer comes back to return the car. If the customer wants to return it then there is nothing in the law to stop them from getting a refund. This often happens when a husband during his midlife crisis buys a sports car but is forced by his wife to return it the next day.

Sounds like if you buy a car from this guy he'll take care of the problem in the middle of the night.

Z Draci said:

That depends on the state, most states do not have a "cooling off period" after a car purchase. Once you sign on the line and take possesion of the car it is yours to deal with and the dealer has no obligation to grant you a refund. Many new car dealers offer "24 Hour Test Drives" where you can take the car home and use it for a day to see how you like it, although used car dealers don't do this.

Here in Belgium there is a 7-day refund period for all goods, I assume cars also belong in that category.