Your Camera Equipment

I hadn't even noticed the whole photography-part of the forum until rootrider mentioned it in IRC...so here I am. :) And what better way to get started than "equipment masturbation" (or laiterunkkaus as we say in finnish) :-D

And no, I'm not a pro, more like a serious amateur. Haven't got any cash from my pictures (mainly because the domestic market in Finland isn't that big), but I wouldn't mind if someone offered me money for messing about with my camera :)

(updated 8.3.2007)
Nikon D200
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
AF Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DX
AF Nikkor 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 IF
Nikkor Ai 300mm f/4.5 IF-ED
Nikon E 75-150mm f/3.5 (old manual focus pump-zoom)

SB-600 flash with Lumiquest pocket bouncer & ultra bouncer
2 x Sandisk Ultra II 1GB CF
1x Sandisk Extreme III 4GB CF
Manfrotto tripod and ballhead
Lowepro MiniTrekker AW & Tamrac Velocity 3
Lumisoft 5-in-1 80cm reflector

Oh and btw, here's a link to my gallery: http://www.iki.fi/raparperi/
Unfortunately almost all the links there are in finnish, so...experiment :)

Last edited:
picked this up recently...
PICT8952.jpg

PICT8954.jpg

The Serious stuff:

dsc-r1.jpg

-Sony Cybershot DSC-R1
-2Gb CompactFlash II 140X
(when in a long trip I bring a laptop because I can't last for more than one or two days with 2Gb of space only)
LowePro Rezo 140 AW

Small stuff for parties or if I think I might break something..

Canon A70
128mb CompactFlash

I need to find myself some filters (circular polariser) but the filter thread on my sony is huge (67 or 72mm I don't remember so they're damn expensive!)

ah well...

Last edited:
What the hell is that thing on top of your camera?

What kind of focal lenghts does that thing have? I'm guessing it's a fixed-lens camera?

The topthingy is the LCD screen. The R1 is a fixed-lens camera crossed with a SLR - it's got a pretty nice fixed-lens combined with a SLR sensor. No mirror, just a LCD abd EVF.

Nice cam, but a real shame it's more expensive than a lot of SLR's.