Photoshopping out Number Plates.

STi Nut

Car(s)
2008 Toyota Yaris 1.3L 5 Door Auto
Hey all,

Now that I am starting to get into my photography I ask the people that I take the pics of there cars if they don?t mind me sharing them on the internet. Most of them simply ask to get rid of there number plates. I am no Photoshop expert but know how to sortta use it and am happy to give stuff a try. Every attempt I make I am not that happy with as it looks fair bad.

I want to know what is the best way of getting rid of a numberplate.

Thanks in advance.

Use the original plate color and just blank it out.

I hate when people take awesome photos of cars, then put a giant black box over the plate.

I use paint shop pro. I usually just use the 'retouch' tool to smudge the plate until it can't be read.

Like This:
689pcu9.jpg

Totally removing the plate is more difficult. A friend of mine totally removed the number plate in this pic. He used Photo Shoppe.
61n6g6b.jpg

^I don't know how to do that myself.

Its not too hard. Its just a matter of smudging the body around the number plate :)

Well i personly hate it when you get a awesome pic but just has a black square over the number plate. thats why i want it to look nice and clean. this is one pick that i am trying to play with, it is a low res version of it but you get the idea.

36smbg

Here is my method in photoshop:

a) Use the polygonal lasso around the borders of the license plate so that you are selection the rectangular bit where the numbers are. This is to keep the airbrush strokes from painting over the car.

b) Use brush, on the top left, there are brush presets, choose Airbrush. Now use the Ink dropper tool and pick a color from one corner of the license plate and airbrush out the numbers.

c) Repeat process at all corners and make it look smooth so that there are not jagged edges at the corners. You can use the keys I and B to switch between brush and ink dropped mode.

Like so.