problems with .mkv

Corvu

Car(s)
'99 Cavalier
i am a bit of a noob when it comes to media files and i have been having problems with playing the hd polar special. it is a .mkv file. I down loaded media player classic, which plays the file, but the picture goes half the speed of the sound. i have a new computer with plenty of power. I downloaded vlc player as well, but that would not play the file at all. i could not find a converter to play it with wmp 11, which is what i have been using for other top gear, with a divx codec pack.

any suggestions?

Is this the high-def version? Do you know if your computer can even handle it?

it is the 720p version, my computer should be able to handle it. core duo 2.0 ghz with 4mb cache, 2gb ram, 256md nvidia geforce, 1650x1080 res.

ffdshow. Or cccp. Discussed like a million billion times...

Hmm...yeah, OK, it certainly can handle it. Check out the news archives a while back, I think there is a tutorial on getting HD to work.

I've given up on trying to play Matroska POS files. Always stuttered no matter which codec or player I used. It's a shitty codec, plain and simple.

matroska = container, x.264 = encoder, mpeg4 avc = codec, cvrefugee = fail, sorry...

Can I just ask why someone actually made the 7GB 1080p rip of the Polar Special? Can it play smoothly on ANYONES computer?

Last edited:
My c2d 6300 with coreavc runs it @ 30% with some minor 50% peaks...

OK. I tried the MPC. And it runs smoother. But the audio is still out of sync.

OK. I tried the MPC. And it runs smoother. But the audio is still out of sync.
Can you manually adjust it?
MPC binds the audio delay adjust to the numeric keypad plus and minus keys I think.
You shouldn't have to use them, and I didn't have any audio delay problems with the 1080p version, but maybe it will solve your problem.

Speedtouch never told us what machine or decoder he is using... Mpc uses the same filters as the other media players, so how the heck could it get any better with it?