Ownership Verified: 2012 Ariel Atom 3 - K20Z3

jsausley

Car(s)
'16 Audi S5, '14 CC R-Line, '12 Ariel Atom 3
It's been a while but I finally picked up the new toy today from TMI Autotech at VIR in Alton, VA. This car was the original Ariel Atom 3 prototype, the first Atom 3 produced by TMI Autotech here in the United States and also the only Atom 3 that is powered by the Honda K20Z3, the engine from the previous Ariel Atom 2. The differences between the K20 and the K24 are numerous, but despite the K24's higher peak power and lower end torque, the K20 is much preferred by Honda enthusiasts for its more balanced powerband, higher rev limit and more aggressive VTEC profile. (I'm no Honda expert, but this is what I've learned in researching and purchasing this car.)

I am fortunate enough to live only an hour from Virginia International Raceway, which is where TMI Autotech is located. I have been looking at these Atoms for quite some time after spending a day at VIR for the Atom Driving Experience last year, so when the deal to buy this special prototype car came up, I couldn't say no. This car ended up costing about 20% less than a brand new Ariel Atom 3 with a K24 engine because it was the first Atom 3 produced and, technically, "an older" car. However, even after my test drive, the car still only has 51 miles on it. Yes, it's about a year old, but it's a brand new car as it was kept at TMI for publicity reasons and was never sold or tracked (apart from its test drive after construction). Furthermore, because it has the engine from an Atom 2 it is technically unique and 1 of 1 in the United States.