A question about motorcycle gearboxes

Redliner

Y'all got any lamps?
DÖNER
Car(s)
I don't drive, I fly.
Following on the recent suggestion of making new threads, here goes:
Why motorcycle gearboxes have the neutral between 1st and 2nd?
Why not have neutral, 1st, 2nd, etc?

because when you're shifting down in a spirited manner, the chance of you ending up in neutral would be too big

:hmm:

But then again, you change that for the chance of ending up in neutral when shifting ?up.

A neutral when up shifting is relatively unlikely and not as problematic as an unexpected neutral while braking.

I did that a few times when I just started riding. :lol:

I've also heard that it's a safety feature, in that if you suddenly need to accelerate from a stop to avoid an accident, putting first at the bottom makes it much easier to ensure you're in gear (that is, kick down one, and you're in first,) and not in neutral.

You can actually find a false neutral between any two gears - it's just easier between 1st and 2nd because there's a detent.

no you can't!

P1100063.jpg

the lobes at the bottom have the dent to get it in neutral, if you manage to balance the gearshift on any of the other lobes, your shiftstar needs to be replaced!

I've also heard that it's a safety feature, in that if you suddenly need to accelerate from a stop to avoid an accident, putting first at the bottom makes it much easier to ensure you're in gear (that is, kick down one, and you're in first,) and not in neutral.

That makes sense.

Following on the recent suggestion of making new threads, here goes:
Why motorcycle gearboxes have the neutral between 1st and 2nd?
Why not have neutral, 1st, 2nd, etc?