BBC America: What are you doing to my show?!

spicysaurus

Car(s)
2007 MX-5
So I'm new to Top Gear fandom, but that doesn't make me any less rabid than anyone here, I'm sure. I watched my first several series via bit torrent downloads, then I caught an episode on BBC America (I live in Texas). I realized about halfway through that I had that episode on the computer, and switched over to get better quality.

And what the heck?!?! The American version cut the news down to a single item and left out Star in a Reasonably-Priced Car completely! They also chopped off several minutes of the challenge (amphibious cars, btw).

Now, I understand the BBC runs shows without commercials. And I understand I live in the U.S., capitalist country extraordinaire. But to lop a full 15 minutes out of my dear Top Gear is absolutely unforgivable!

Thoughts?

They also replace all of the music with generic stuff due to licensing issues (they're free to use any music they want in the UK, but would have to pay for it elsewhere).

This is why all real fans watch the original BBC versions. :p

i have noticed that some of the Dave Reruns have also had their original music removed or altered as well.

I know how you feel. Here in Estonia they cut out news and various studio bits out. They keep the SIARPC in tho.

"Thou shalt not taketh away from the most-high gear known as Top Gear. The three (men) in one (show) shall speaketh, and thou shalt listen." So sayeth the law of Top Gear. Amen.

i have noticed that some of the Dave Reruns have also had their original music removed or altered as well.

Yep, because Dave is a commercial broadcaster and the catchall agreement between the record companies and the BBC that allows TG to use any music they want for next to nothing only covers public broadcasters in the UK, basically BBC and its affiliates only.