Best budget zoom lens for Olympus E-410

SpecOpsBob

Car(s)
Honda Prelude
/thread

Ok, ok, I'm still getting to grips with all the camera terminology and whatnot so please excuse my lack of... knowing stuff :)

I'm looking for a new lens for my Olympus E410 for around $300AUD (preferably less) which I can use for shooting more distant things than my current 14 - 42mm Zuiko lens which came with it, but can still remain light and versatile.

The best I've found so far is this which from the reviews sounds like the pretty much perfect one I'm looking for.
My questions are, since I'm a photographic noob when it comes to all the numbers, roughly what equivalent would the zoom be in terms of zoom usually referred to in digital cameras (eg, 3x, 10x, etc) and if there's anything better out there for what I'm looking for.

The auction's only got 4 hours or so left so the sooner I can get a response it would be appreciated.

Thanks all.

Last edited:

marcos_eirik

Car(s)
Mostly my feet, occasionally a Tesla
Ok, ok, I'm still getting to grips with all the camera terminology and whatnot so please excuse my lack of... knowing stuff :)

I'm looking for a new lens for my Olympus E410 for around $300AUD (preferably less) which I can use for shooting more distant things than my current 14 - 42mm Zuiko lens which came with it, but can still remain light and versatile.

The best I've found so far is this which from the reviews sounds like the pretty much perfect one I'm looking for.
My questions are, since I'm a photographic noob when it comes to all the numbers, roughly what equivalent would the zoom be in terms of zoom usually referred to in digital cameras (eg, 3x, 10x, etc) and if there's anything better out there for what I'm looking for.

The auction's only got 4 hours or so left so the sooner I can get a response it would be appreciated.

Thanks all.