Building a Computer

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Yeah! I choo-choo chose this!

I'll show myself out. :|

Must spread more rep before giving to Jake....


Supposedly it can move and has a spot for smoke!


 
Last edited:

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Allright, here's what I'm looking at

Case:
Crazy Train thing
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112393
$229.99

Motherboard:
MSI FM2 Mini-ITX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130664
Cheapest FM2 Mini-ITX (There were only two >.>
$89.99

CPU:
AMD A10-5800k
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113280
The A10 is the best way to get an acceptable GPU with a decent CPU. Period.
$129.99

RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231455
OR
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231476
The A10 GPU is made significantly faster by fast RAM, so 1866 is sort of the minimum here. I'd go for 2133 if you can. I like G.Skill.

Drives:
Samsung 840 120GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147188
$94.99

Seagate 1tb
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148840
$79.99

Grand total (With the 2133 RAM): $689.94 before shipping.

While you're not going to whip up Crysis 3 anytime soon, the A10 has a surprisingly capable GPU (7660D) that is fine for running most games. It'll run BF3 or Skyrim just fine.

Did some shopping around and found I could get the mobo for $60.

What's the difference between the board you listed and the one I found?

http://tinyurl.com/c6rmd7g

If I get just the SSD and purchase the mobo from Amazon, I found a 2.5" 500GB laying around, grand total would be $596.80.
 

thevictor390

Teen Wankeler
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
11,872
Location
Massachusetts
Car(s)
'17 Mazda MX-5 RF, '89 Toyota Blizzard SX5
That motherboard is microATX as opposed to MiniITX, wrong size. MiniITX is a bit more specialized so it probably is more expensive.
 

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Wow, I waited two days and the mobo is out of stock, Amazon had the same one(I checked! Mini-ITX).

I kind of wanted to buy everything from one place so, thankfully, everything else was in stock and I just matched part numbers. Apart from the 2133 memory. I found a different kind of G.Skill memory that's still 2133 and 8GB.

I'm so excited!
 
Last edited:

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
The MSI board and CPU showed up today and yesterday.

I checked out CPU and heatsink. Just to be sure, the small dark square is the thermal paste, correct?

 

Pininfarina_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1,743
Location
Canada
Car(s)
E46
The MSI board and CPU showed up today and yesterday.

I checked out CPU and heatsink. Just to be sure, the small dark square is the thermal paste, correct?
Yeap. Some people like to scrape that stuff off and put their own thermal paste, but since that is the stock cooler, it'll do just fine.
 

93Flareside

Döner Kebab enthusiast
DONOR
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
42 miles outside of Chicago
Car(s)
‘18 VW Golf GTI, '87 Mercury Colony Park
Holy grave digging batman!

So I've had this pc running, from 2015 until now, I had transplanted all the hardware into a CoolerMaster case that allowed for PCI Express use. I had purchased a Corsair 500W psu which meant 350W or so was being used at full tilt on all the things. At some point over the weekend the psu died and now all hardware is back in the train case. Probably once ringmeet is over will I seriously look into upgrading my system.

Only recently did I finally reach the end of the CPU's power, I was gaming with @loose_unit and noticed in game things were sort of freezing for short moments every so often. checking task manager revealed the cpu was pegged. I had since upgraded to 16GB of memory, graphics is an RX580. All thanks to @JakeRadden for helping during the dark days of me not knowing the world of pc building.
 
Top