• The development of any software program, including, but not limited to, training a machine learning or artificial intelligence (AI) system, is prohibited using the contents and materials on this website.

Do any of you guys....

SiR_dude

Car(s)
2000 Civic SiR
....invest money? Like as in stocks? If so, what do you use to pick your stocks? Any advice?

I'd like to make some extra $$$ by investing some savings...it's easy enough to do online through the bank, but I'm quite a newb when it comes to public stocks...anyone?

I have 401K through work (Principal).
I don't really invest in individual stocks, mostly just mutual funds.
I've been doing this for 3 years now.
The first year I broke even, last year, I got a 31% return, and this year I'm getting about a 2% return (despite the big drop).

I've got most of my money in a managed retirement fund, but I also have some money in a mid-cap stock index fund, a small-cap fund and an international small company fund.
The international small company fund is doing really well at this point at an 18% return.

Now I must say, I don't know much about it at all, I simply picked the funds that have gotten the best returns over the last quarter / year and the last 5 years (which perhaps isn't the best strategy).

Some rules that I go by:

- The best way to invest is to not spend it on interest of loans, so devote most of your money to paying off credit cards, car loans, mortgages etc...
- If your renting a home, make buying one your first priority, if you're renting you throw money away each month, if you own a home, you probably pay a bit more each month, but you get most of that back in equity.
- Reduce your cost of living: If you smoke then quit, cook for yourself, rather than dining out (you'd be surprised how much money you save).

If you're investing long term and you're young and you're just starting, then :