Down the Pacific Coast I Go...

Shawn

Lexus? Oh shi-
Car(s)
MkVI GTI w/DSG
So those of you who read any of the Random Thoughts... threads with any regularity have probably read something related to this.

I wanted to go to Southern California for a few weeks and the idea occurred to me that I should take a chance for once in my life and do something I wouldn't normally do - drive my car 2,300 odd kilometers down the coast of western North America to get there.

Some recommended that I take the scenic route that hugs the coast all the way from Washington state to California but this is my first time on the road and I'll be all alone so I'm going to compromise and take the scenic route just within California. It's still a considerable chunk of the trip, and if Google Street View is any indication it's a hell of a road.

Long story short, this is my route as it stands now. I'm going to be stopping over in Portland and Medford in Oregon and San Francisco and Paso Robles in California.

https://pic.armedcats.net/s/sh/shawn/2010/10/14/map.jpg

Fortunately for you all I don't really have any questions, just wanted to make a thread so I don't clutter up the others. Let me know though if you have any tips or whatever, on any of the cities or just in general about the trip. I'm not into the typical tourist traps but I'm hoping to take a look at some nice eateries and stuff.

Fucking Yogurtland, sorry it's my only contribution. I was only in California for a bit and most of that time I was in the woods.

From what i've heard, seen, and read you should definitely take the 199 from Grants Pass to Crescent City, then the 101 to Legett and then stay on Highway 1 all the way to L.A. or even up to San Diego.

need a co-driver?

Is that an offer or are you asking if I think I will need one? I was kind of looking forward to doing it because I enjoy driving alone, but since I've never done anything of this magnitude I want to kind of take it easy.