• The development of any software program, including, but not limited to, training a machine learning or artificial intelligence (AI) system, is prohibited using the contents and materials on this website.

Downloading from behind a Router / Firewall

Phoenix

I'm trying to download from behind a router which appears to be a firewall as well.

It doesn't appear to have any software supporting it, and I'm guessin gthat is what is causing my slower than average downloads.

Hat can I do / need to do, to get a quicker downloada and how do I do that. Yeah, i'm a newbie to BT downloads BTW.

No software supporting it? How does it work? You need to try and forward the ports - but I'm not exactly sure how to do that, seeing as I don't have a router or a firewall. But this has been a common prob, so hopefully you can get it sorted out.

Temporarily try to hook up your computer directly to the internet connection without having the router inbetween it to see if it makes any difference in speed.
What's the make and model of your router?
Does it say anything in the manual or on their website?

I've switched over to connect to the modem instead of the hub or router, so i'll see if it makes much difference. I can't try for too long because I loose access to the network (other than the internet) when I connect it directly.

The unit itself is a Netgear FVS318 if that helps at all.

This one?
http://www.netgear.com/products/details/FVS318.php

Some stuff here might be helpful:
http://kbserver.netgear.com/products_automatic/FVS318.asp

Software for routers is generally in the hardware box itself.
Normally they can be accessed by using a web browser.
The router itself should have an ip address (for example 192.168.0.1) and if you type something like http://192.168.0.1 in your web browser, you might get something.

Edit: It appears that these are the instructions for port forwarding for your router:
http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101145.asp#FVS318Anchor