E85 Chassis BMW Z4. Anyone have experience?

Eunos_Cosmo

Forum Addict
Car(s)
'84 Mazda RX7, '12 Mazda 2, '99 Porsche Boxster
I've been on the hunt for a replacement vehicle for my faithful Mazda2. I live in California now, and I don't need a car at all really (I take the ferry to work) so I'd like to get something more purpose built for fun. I'm also a designer so design is a top priority. Though I've love how the NC MX-5 drives, I just don't quite love how they look. Same goes for the ND. The first generation Z4, however, seems to tick all the boxes. Yeah, it's not as engaging or as eager to play as the MX-5, but it is absolutely stunning to look at (for me) inside and out, and the silky smooth N52 engine is just perfect for the chassis. I drove one today and I really liked it (minus the high seating position) and am considering buying one. The one I looked at was a 2003 with about 110k miles, 2.5i with a 5 speed manual. It was remarkably clean, but not perfect. The asking price was around $8,000. I know these cars are based on the E46, and those cars seem to last forever, so I'm wondering if the little Z is also as durable? My budget is around $15k (I could go more expensive and get an M, but I have to street park pretty often, and I don't want to trash a too-nice car). Ideally, I'd find a 3.0 model in the same maldives blue, as I've heard the 3 liter is even more of a gem.

Anyone have any experience with E46 or E85 BMWs? Anything to look out for?

As a former E46 owner, I can't recommend them as a daily at this point. There's tons of forum support out there for the drive trains and if you can DIY and not depend on the thing, all the better. I got rid of mine at about 120k since I was having $500 problems once a quarter, and that was taking it to an indy mechanic. They're nice and fun, and the Z4 is a unique car that I don't find repulsive like when I first came out, much like the E60. They've both aged well in the looks, so I can see the appeal.